banana chocolate chip muffins

Standard

This afternoon, I needed a break from GPS running watch research. (I am soon to be investing in a GPS running watch; I am deciding between the Garmin Forerunner 305 and Forerunner 405. Recommendations? Leave a comment!). *Update 7/9/11: I ecstatically ordered the Forerunner 305 after much deliberation. Proven functionality won over fashion. My eyes were tired of staring at a computer screen and skimming through user reviews, so for my break I chose to bake!

At first, I really wanted to bake Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes (a future project, for sure). However, when I realized I did not have confectioner’s sugar in the cabinet for the vanilla buttercream, that idea went out the window. (I am in a “bake with what is in the house phase.”) With two overripe bananas in the fruit basket, I decided to make Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins instead; I have been craving these muffins as of late, so this was the perfect substitute for the Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes.

I did not follow a recipe exactly for these muffins. I used a couple, seemingly popular and well liked, recipes as guides. Creating a recipe is always exhilarating and fun. For me, there is typically a little uncertainty when taste-testing a “recipe,” but taste-testing a personal recipe is twice as thrilling; you never really know how the end product will turn out. I love the thrill! I also find I am less disappointed when one of my recipes does not turn out great; I have expectations of my recipe, but these expectations are always lower compared to those of a recipe recipe. Back to the muffins: the Banana Chocolate Chip turned out so moist and fluffy, but not sweet enough for my liking. In the recipe below, I have increased the sugar content just a smidgen. *Update 7/9/11: The next day, after the muffins had a chance to completely cool, the sugar content seemed spot on. The chocolate chips make up for any lack of sweetness. In the recipe below, I have included my original sugar amount, 1/4 cup. If chocolate chips are not used, I still encourage using 1/3-1/2 cup sugar.


Along with this recipe, I tried browning butter (click link for how to brown butter) for the first time. Brown butter supposedly yields a nutty flavor, which I thought would go lovely with the bananas. The brown butter itself smelled ohmygoodness so delicious and nutty, but I did not taste any brown butter flavor in the muffin itself. This was a small batch of muffins, yielding nine, so perhaps if the recipe was doubled the brown butter flavor would be more noticeable. *Update 7/9/11: My dad said these muffins were addicting, so maybe the brown butter is working a little bit of magic. 

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 2-3 overripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 stick (4 Tablespoons) butter, melted, browned if desired
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 or 1/3-1/2 cup brown sugar (amount according to preferred level of sweetness)
  • 1/8 cup milk
  • 1 cup 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup (semi-sweet) chocolate chips
1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line muffin tins with muffins cups or spray with cooking spray.
2. Combine bananas, butter, egg, vanilla, sugar, and milk until smooth.
3. Add in dry ingredients, stirring until just combined.
4. Fold in chocolate chips.
5. Distribute batter between muffin tin (yields about 9 muffins), and bake for about 18 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
6. Allow muffins to cool in tin for about 10 minutes before removing to cool completely (or eat!).
2 responses »

  1. Gee, I wish I would have been there to taste them. I like the way you try things–like combining recipes. It seems you have such a knack for making a bunch of ingredients into something really delicious. Grannie E.

    • Grannie,
      I always enjoy reading your comments, and I hope my blog posts provide a little insight between my emails. What are your favorite treats to bake? Do you like to bake muffins?

Leave a Reply

