Ciao, Italia!

Standard

For Spring Break, I traveled to Italy! It was an adventure, filled with beautiful sights, welcoming Italian folks, and tasty food. I went to Rome, Venice, Florence, Pisa, Siena, Pompeii, Ravello and Naples. Each town of Italy is so different from the next; there’s so much to see and do! I thought I would share some of my pictures.

The Trevi Fountain in Rome. One of the amazing things about Italy is that you can be walking about the streets and all of a sudden a beautiful, ancient monument, like the Trevi Fountain, is right before you!

The Pietá in St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City. This statue is one of my favorite pieces of artwork in Italy. It was originally down in the entryway, but it was later moved to behind glass after someone came charging into the Basilica and started hammering away on it. This statue is by Michelangelo, but there are SO many different statues and pictures of Mary and Jesus in Italy–they are everywhere!

Venice! The city on water is spectacular. All of the buildings are colorfully painted and the water is a beautiful blue-green. The bridge in the second picture is the Rialto Bridge, which is one of two bridges over the Grand Canal.

The Colosseum in Rome. The Colosseum is colossal! To me, it’s unbelievable something this old is still standing, and that Romans walked the same paths I did. It was once all covered in white marble.

The Leaning Tower of Pisa (in Pisa). It’s pretty crazy climbing up the stairs to the top because you really DO feel like you’re leaning at some points! The day I went was a nice, spring day, and the view from the top was breathtaking.

The staircase in the Vatican Museum. I thought this was so neat because it’s in the shape of a double-helix–just like DNA. Science is everywhere! Everyone at this point wanted to take a break from climbing stairs and opted for the escalator, but I HAD to go down the double helix spirals, so I took the stairs!

A view from the hilltop town of Ravello. Ravello is a little, quiet town on the coast. My uncle and aunt were married there. It is nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the touristy towns and come to Ravello and relax.

I hope you enjoyed a glimpse into Italy!

All for now,

Abby

3 responses »

  1. Wow. This is quite beautiful. I love your pictures! And I’ve never seen your dad before– he looks a lot like Andy! (Who, by the way, is kinda cute. Shhh!) Anyhow, it looks beautiful.

Leave a Reply

