A reflection.

Standard

There were (are) so many thoughts scrambling around in my head tonight, I wasn’t sure where I could get them all out to really process them. And then I thought: “The blog!” So, here it all comes…

After an eye-opening chat with my dad, I realized a few of my principles of food (and baking) were in need of a change. I am a firm believer in eating healthy, but my dad brought up the point of, if you’re going to eat dessert, why try and healthify it? It’s an indulgence, so it doesn’t need to be absolutely, 100% healthy. If you lead a lifestyle that includes healthy eating and being active, a sweet indulgence (or it doesn’t have to be sweet) is okay. I feel like I’ve written this a thousand times on the blog because I do believe it. But now I finally believe it for myself; I can’t just tell other people it’s okay, but I have to practice it, too.  It took me quite some time to realize that everything in moderation is OK! My friend Sara said: “Remember, it’s what you do 90% of the time that matters. Enjoy yourself and enjoy food!” (Thanks Sara, for your words of wisdom.) I like that! Baking and cooking are such big parts of my life; I love the steps to baking and the smell of garlic simmering away in olive oil. I love the accomplished feeling I get after I see my finished product cooling on a cooling rack or dished up on a dinner plate. Lately, baking has been a bit stressful for me because I’ve been concerned with dessert being “healthy”, but now, I have realized that baking doesn’t (and shouldn’t) be stressful, and should be what it was always meant to be: fun.

So, summing it all up, I am going to try and be more relaxed about what I eat. Yes, I am still going to eat my veggies and try and avoid all the processed stuff, but when it comes to an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie from my favorite bakery, I’m not going to pass it up–I’m going to feel good about my conscious indulgence & smile :)

Don’t worry; be happy.

All for now,

Abby

P.S. I need to thank my dad, for always telling me the truth (even when it’s something I might not want to hear), but always somehow saying the right thing. And to Sara, who’s a incredible role model for healthiness & happiness. I feel so lucky, and am grateful, for the wonderful people I have in my life.

One response »

  1. awww thanks Abby! It’s fun having someone to share my passion of food and health with! Keep up your food soul seeking! Cooking is a large part of how I found appreciation in all foods…from brownies to tofu :)
    Good luck at Districts! You’ll kick bootie!
    Sara

Leave a Reply

