Banana bread.

Standard

It has been quite some time since I have written on the blog! A lot has happened in the two or so weeks since my last post, but one thing stands out in my mind: SOLON LADY SPARTANS ARE STATE CHAMPIONS!! Woo! Way to go team :) And the boys’ team too! We rounded out the State Meet with 51 points, tied with Gilbert. We don’t mind sharing :) The Gilbert team is a great bunch of ladies! It was a great track season; I am so blessed to be part of such a caring, hardworking, motivated, fun team! I have made so many friends,  and I can’t wait for next year.

Our team huddle after winning State!

Now for the star of the post: banana bread! This is Andy’s favorite, and I have to admit, it is becoming one of mine, as I haven’t always been a big fan of banana-y baked goods. It’s best to use brown bananas for banana bread. Not deep yellow bananas, but brown, spotting, looking-pretty-gruesome bananas. Don’t be afraid to use them; they make the yummiest bread!

Banana Bread (adapted loosely from simplyrecipes.com)

3-4 SUPER ripe bananas, mashed well (I recommend using 4.)

5 tablespoons butter, melted (I haven’t tried using oil, but I would like to; I would use a light-flavored oil, like canola oil. I think the rich flavor of extra-virgin wouldn’t mix well in this bread.)

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup organic evaporated cane juice or sugar (The original recipe called for 1 cup, but I have scaled that back; you can make it as sweet as you want.)

3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour (This flour is great for baking as it provides all the benefits of red whole wheat flour, but without the heavy texture.)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

*I have never tried nuts in the recipe, but I think walnuts would be fantastic! (Andy isn’t a big fan of having “stuff” in his bread.)

Mix everything together, in the order listed. This is a one bowl wonder! Pour into greased (non-stick cooking spray) loaf pan and bake for 55-60 minutes and 350 degrees. It’s great just sliced, but also great with butter and jelly toasted or untoasted! Enjoy!

Have a wonderful weekend!

All for now,

Abby

Leave a Reply

