oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

Standard

Today, I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. This recipe is already under “Cookie Monster,” but I thought it deserved its own post. Plus, I tweaked it a little bit. The original recipe called for margarine, but I usually use butter instead (because of the Trans-fat in margarine). But, my cookies never had that crisp that my mom’s used to have. So, this time I swapped half of the butter for Trans-fat free vegetable shortening. I got the idea from my grandma, who primarily uses shortening in her cookie recipes, which are always crispy. Although Spectrum shortening has about the same amount of saturated fat as butter, 6 grams, it also has lots of polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats. Also, I added 1/2 cup more of quick oats (the more the merrier!) and 1/4 teaspoon of kosher salt because I think salt brings out flavors in baked goods. This recipe is quick to whip up, and makes a lot, around 3 dozen (34 to be exact…would be 35 if Andy hadn’t snatched some of the dough) using a 1 1/2 tablespoon scoop. I don’t think I’ll ever make them as good as my mom did, but I think I’m pretty close :)

Kay’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, revisited

10 tablespoons butter, softened

10 tablespoons Trans-fat free vegetable shortening, like Spectrum

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups unbleached-all purpose flour

3 cups quick oats

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Cream the butter and shortening until smooth. Add sugars and combine. Next, mix in the egg and vanilla. Stir in the baking soda, salt, and flour until combined. Add in the oats and chocolate chips. Drop onto a cookie sheet, around 1 1/2 tablespoons, but they can always be bigger for a ‘real’ cookie (as my dad would say), you’ll just need to adjust the cooking time accordingly. If you are using a scooper, it may be necessary to flatten the cookie out if you’d like a flatter cookie. I usually do this by getting the bottom of a glass wet and gently pressing down on the dough. You could also spray the bottom of the glass with cooking spray. Bake for around 9 minutes at 375 degrees. Let the cookies rest on the cooling rack for 2 minutes, and then transfer to a cooling rack.

(I had a bit of fun taking some pictures…unfortunately all the cookies were gone before I got a chance to take some pictures of the baked cookies!)

I’m always looking for new recipes and ideas, so send yours my way!

All for now,

Abby


Leave a Reply

