can’t get enough

Standard

Of eggs & potatoes! I have a recipe for Steamed Potatoes with Parsley and also a recipe for Egg Sandwiches. For lunch on Monday, I decided to sort of combine the two. First, I boiled some red potatoes until they were fork-tender. Next, I drained the potatoes and placed them on a baking sheet. I seasoned them with kosher salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. I then sprayed the potatoes with cooking spray. This is a trick of my dad’s; the cooking spray allows the potatoes to brown in the oven. (You could also use extra-virgin olive oil, there would be more flavor using the oil.) I then placed them in the oven at 475 degrees for about 10 minutes, and then I turned on the broiler until the potatoes were brown. For the egg, I simply made a fried egg (using cooking spray). Then, to make it more “egg sandwich-y,” I then placed 2 slices of Monterrey Jack cheese on the egg, so it melted. It was a simple, yummy, comforting lunch. I always think breakfast foods are so comforting! I polished the lunch off with a sweet Pink Lady apple (my favorite!) and a glass of ice water. I can’t wait to try different variations of the potatoes, like using fresh or dried herbs. It would also be fun to try roasting onions and other veggies.

What are your favorite breakfast and comfort meals?

All for now,

Abby

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

