it’s raining men blueberries, part 1

Standard

The blueberries have been glorious at the grocery store lately. (So have the strawberries & raspberries. I saw golden raspberries the other day–I’ve never seen OR heard of them before. I wonder if they’re as yummy as their red relative?) We have been stocked with the luscious, little blue beauties. I love how blues pop! in your mouth :) They are wonderful (and my favorite) in oatmeal or muesli, baked into muffins & coffee cake, and stand out in my favorite snack: granola bars (even if they’re not fresh in those ;) ). Shall we explore those blueberries further? I think so!

Cooked Muesli with Blueberries, Strawberries, Bananas, and Raisins

What is muesli? Muesli is a blend of rolled oats, nuts & seeds, and dried fruits (usually raisins). It’s really similar to oatmeal, but a LOT easier to cook on the stove! Check out Bob’s Red Mill, the brand I use. Sometimes I will mix the muesli into vanilla yogurt, so that it acts like granola, but usually, I cook it on the stove and pile it high with blueberries and other fruits. It is a SUPER simple, healthful breakfast & a great way to begin the day. Here’s how I do it:

Bring 1/2 cup water to a boil, but not quite on high heat–it shouldn’t take long (Muesli is a 1-to-1 ration with H2o). Add 1/2 cup muesli and a big handful of raisins (or flame raisins–no, they’re not spicy, just bigger, juicy raisins!). Stir muesli constantly until it begins to thicken. You can stop stirring and let the cereal bubble to help it thicken.

Gettin’ a little close there with the steam :)

Turn off the heat when it still looks like there is moisture; this will only take about a minute. Immediately transfer the muesli to a serving bowl, making sure to scrape the sides of the pan (and the spoon!) to get all the goodness. Top muesli with an avalanche of blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, and sliced bananas. Pour in about 2-3 tablespoons (or a big splash) of milk, just to give the cereal a bit more liquid. If desired, top with brown sugar (use the good stuff!), but I don’t add brown sugar anymore; the sweetness from all the fruit is perfect.

The finished project.

Muesli with blueberries–check. Next..part two..the baked goods: blueberry muffins and blueberry coffee cake!

Do you eat breakfast everyday?

I eat breakfast everyday. No matter what. Breakfast gives me energy and helps me stay focused throughout the morning!

All for now,

Abby


Leave a Reply

