it’s raining men blueberries, part 2

Standard

And now for the baked goods: blueberry muffins and blueberry coffee cake. One is a recipe, the other is an experience :)

With an abundance of blueberries in the fridge, I just knew I had to bake some sort of treat. And treats in my book are muffins, quick breads (like zucchini), coffee cakes…not your usual dessert fare, but just as sweet & delicious. I’m a girl who loves her cake, cookies, and pie, don’t get me wrong, I’m not crazy, but I adore breads. I love the creamy, hearty texture of a muffin or slice of banana bread. I knew right away what I wanted to bake with those darling little berries: blueberry muffins! This treat would also have to include yogurt because I needed to use up some plain Greek yogurt before it went to the trash. But, I was faced with a dilemma: what recipe will I use? I have a lot of trusted food blogs out there, so I consulted each and every one of my favorites. I finally chose a recipe from Simply Recipes. This recipe included the use of yogurt, although one of the reviews noted that the result didn’t seem right using Greek yogurt: the batter was just too thick. I decided, what the hey? I’ll give it a whirl. AND I am so glad I did–the muffins turned out beautifully! The dough part of the muffin is buttery, creamy, melt-in-your-mouth goodness, and the blueberries burst in your mouth; the perfect tart contrast to the sweet muffin. Below is the recipe; I have crossed out what the original had and beside written what I used, based upon the ingredients I had on hand. I still think using regular plain yogurt (instead of Greek) would be great.

Blueberry Muffins, recipe adapted from Simply Recipes

3 cups of all-purpose flour 1.25 cups of white whole wheat flour + 1.25 cups of all-purpose flour

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 stick butter, softened (I bet you could get away with 1 stick, no problem! A bunch of the other sites I looked at used vegetable oil instead of butter. I’d like to give this a try.)

1 cup sugar (you know me, I used organic evaporated cane juice)

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup plain yogurt plain Greek yogurt, stirred (I used 2-6 oz. containers of Fage 0%)

1 teaspoon lemon zest

1 1/2 cups blueberries (+ additional flour to lightly toss in)

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Generously spray muffin tins with non-stick spray, or place muffin liners in the tins. Beat butter and sugar (or OECJ) together with an electric/hand mixer until very light and fluffy. Add in eggs one at a time, thoroughly combining each egg into the mixture. Next, beat in lemon zest. Whisk together dry ingredients. Then, mix in 1/3 of the dry ingredients, followed by 1/3 of the yogurt into the butter mixture, being careful not to over mix. Repeat, alternating between the flour and yogurt mixture until everything is mixed. Gently toss the blueberries in a few Tablespoons of flour, and then gently fold into batter. You can also sprinkle a few on top.

Place batter into prepared muffin tins, not filling quite to the top. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the muffins are lightly browned and an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Allow the muffins to cool in the pan for 5 minutes, and then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.  This recipe makes around 2o regular-sized muffins. Enjoy (warm with a little butta and jam if you’re feelin’ it) for breakfast, dessert, or whenever :) 

Look at all those blues!

Blueberry Coffee Cake time! No, I didn’t make blueberry muffins AND blueberry coffee cake. But, I did indulge in a slice of heaven one night from New Pi (the local organic food store). My dad and I went to the co-op to pick up some ingredients for dinner (we made pasta with broccoli and cauliflower). As we were passing the dessert case, my dad suddenly stops and stares at the cookies, biscotti, muffins, scones, and all the other treats. He says, “I feel like having something sweet..what should we have for dessert?” I did a quick double-take. Dad? Wanting dessert? Sure, he will eat the cookies that I bake, but my dad isn’t one for sweets or actual dessert. So, not wanting to pass up an opportunity for the co-op’s fab desserts, I went over to a shelf stocked with goodies to help choose. Dad spied the winning slices of blueberry coffee cake. What a good choice he made :) That night, I ate my dinner slowly, trying not to be too anxious for my dessert. But oh my goodness, that coffee cake was to DIE for! The top was crunchy with sugar, and the cake part was thick, sweet, and buttery. The blueberries added a nice pop to the cake. I ate it as s l o w l y as I could. I once heard that a great dessert is one that leaves you wanting more..and this was certainly one of those! Oh man. I might need to go get a slice ;)

Tough question. What’s your all-time favorite dessert?

Okay, I know this is totally not a fair question. It requires some thought! I would have to go with..my grandma’s apple pie. (She makes her own crust!)

‘Til Part 3!

Abby

Leave a Reply

