it’s raining men blueberries, part 3

Standard

Blueberries atop muesli, blueberries in muffins & coffee cake, blueberries in granola bars. I have a secret (I suppose it’s not so secret anymore) obsession with granola bars. I. just. love. ’em! Crunchy, chewy, salty, sweet, you name it: I’m game! But, I don’t eat just any granola bars. I like my granola bars to give me a little health :) Granola bars don’t have to be full of sugar and chocolate chips to taste good, like a Sunbelt bar; they can be an actual health benefit! Whole grains, fruits, nuts (healthy fats), protein,  & fiber can be found in a nutritious granola bar. My typical granola bars of choice are Lara Bars, Clif Bars, and Kashi granola bars. Mmm, Lara Bars. Lara Bars are simple, whole food bars, using minimal amounts of ingredients. The bars contain NO added sugars; they get all of the sweetness they need from pureed dates and other fruits and spices. They seriously taste exactly like their flavor! It’s crazy! Check this out: Cherry Pie has only 3 (3!) ingredients: dates, almonds, unsweetened cherries. Pure goodness.

My favorite Lara Bar flavors are Peanut Butter Cookie and PB & J (I am a total sucker for anything peanut-y).

Some of my other favorite granola bars are Clif Bars. Clif Bars are a energy/protein bar, and pack a whole lotta’ nutrients into one bar–so many vitamins and minerals! Clifs are delish, but they do have quite a few grams of sugar. How much of that is from the added fruits, I’m not sure, but it’s just a bit too much for me. I used to have regular Clifs after a workout, but hadn’t been eating them, until…at Target I found MINI Clifs! Whoo! Mini Clifs are the most adorable little granola bars and have HALF of the sugar of the regular bar. They are the perfect munching size! Plus, you can have two flavors to equal one Clif Bar ;) The Mini Clifs come in a box of 18 with 3 different flavors. One of the flavors in my box is…Blueberry Crisp! And I’m tellin’ ya, it tastes just like a blueberry crisp (just not hot out of the oven). I love when I bite into the bar and see all the specks of blue from the blueberries. Blueberries are everywhere, and provide so many nutrients, like powerful antioxidants. The power of blueberries combined with the power of a good granola bar..makes my day brighter :)

My other favorite Clif flavors are Crunchy Peanut Butter and Chocolate Almond Fudge.

Do you have a food obsession?

I already spilled mine: granola bars. And blueberries, too, I would say :)

Part 3  wraps up the blueberry fest :) I have some many ideas swirling around in my head: carrot cake, “Congo” bars, oatmeal fudge bars, baking bread (I’m a baker at heart!) but coming soon will be more savory dishes!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Abby

Leave a Reply

