cookie dough

Standard

You read right: cookie dough. Not chocolate chip cookies. Just dough. But don’t worry–no raw eggs! I have been craving this for a l-o-n-g time. I think part of why I have been craving it is because it’s summer. And in past summers, chocolate chip cookie dough was a distinct source of how I got my daily calories. When I was younger (my middle school years) I had a best friend, Morgan. For four summers in a row, I went on vacation to Door County, Wisconsin with Morgan and her family. She had been going to DC her whole life. It was a tradition in her family to make cookie dough in DC, and so I was introduced to this tradition. Then, every summer when I traveled to Door County, I would look forward to helping make the cookie dough. Oh, and eating it, too :) We’d store it in the refrigerator in a Tupperware, and sneak scoops in the early hours of the morning, before breakfast. Cookie dough reminds me of the summers I spent with Morgan and her family in Door County, which brings back feelings of happiness, freedom, warmth, and togetherness.

Cookie Dough

I halved this recipe, which makes just the right amount. Usually the dough would be made into three different varieties, to suit the taste buds of everyone: just plain dough (no chocolate chips), good ol’ chocolate chip, and chocolate chip cookie dough + oatmeal, for those who wanted to make it a little more healthful :)

1 1/8 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick salted butter, very soft

3/8 cup  dark or light brown sugar

3/8 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

BIG splash of milk (this helps bind everything, as eggs are not used)

1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup quick oats, for oatmeal chocolate chip cookie dough

Cream the butter and sugars until well combined. Add in vanilla. Mix in butter mixture with flour and salt. Add in the big splash of milk. Stir until dough is formed. It should appear very moist! (Add more milk if necessary.) You’ll know the dough is ready when you can smell it. Add chocolate chips, and oatmeal if desired. Store in the refrigerator, and enjoy cold.

A sunset in Door County.

Myself and Morgan, even though it’s been so long, you’ll always be my best friend.

Hoping your day is filled with sunshine,

Abby

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

