vegetarian tacos

Standard

This afternoon was awesome. It was (and still is!) a gorgeous day outside! There is no humidity today, a slight breeze, and sunshine. If this weather continued for the rest of summer, I’d be just fine with that :) A feeling of fall was in the air, and I love fall, for all it brings: going back to school (yes, I am one of those people who just can’t wait for school to begin); the changing of the leaves from bright caterpillar greens to fiery reds, oranges, and yellows; the softening of the summer heat & humidity; and football games. A day like today makes me smile :) I went out to get the mail…and what do I find on the sidewalk? This sweet, decorated cicada!

A bit after lunch, I decided to head into town to do few things. The first place I ventured to was the Clinique counter at Von Maur for a make-up lesson. It was so much fun! My consultant’s name was Abby (crazy!), who was bright, cheery, and very informative. She answered all my questions and showed me how to get all gussied up ;) I left the store with lots of knowledge swirling around in my brain and in a very happy mood. I had a blast! From there, I headed downtown to return a library book. While walking to the library, I stopped in one of my favorite clothing stores, Dulcinea. I browsed the new fall selection and looked at the dresses. All of the clothes in Dulcinea are hip, funky, and..expensive. BUT, I have such a blast looking at all the clothes and imagining wearing them. I might have to go back for a little treat, though ;) I dropped of my library book, then stopped in AKAR, which is a unique little store that sells all the latest, most inventive kitchen and house gadgets. I wanted to check out the lunch box options. I tested out the options, seeing how well they opened, closed, or held food. I decided that my lunch box at home was best! After AKAR, I made a quick stop at the grocery store (with no luck, but another day!). It was a fun little trip into town, a great afternoon. Dad is coming home soon from work, and tonight’s burger night! Mmm, I haven’t had a burger in a while. I’m excited to cook & spend time with my dad :) Has anyone seen any good movies lately? Dad & I are a fan of the movies, but sometimes stumble at which ones to rent. I’d love your suggestions!

Today’s star of the post is another taco recipe. But not just any taco recipe. A bite out of one of these tacos brings such a unique combination of flavors: salty feta cheese, crunchy toasted corn, cilantro (in my opinion, the best herb..ever!), protein-packed black beans, sweet roasted red peppers..so good! At first, I have to admit, I thought, “Feta cheese? In a taco?” I was blown away when I had these tacos; everything works together so well. And don’t be fooled because there isn’t any meat in these tacos–they’ll fill you up! This recipe comes from the magazine Vegetarian Times. I picked up the magazine because these tacos looked so delicious on the cover. And they are :)

Black Bean Tacos recipe loosely adapted from Vegetarian Times

2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained

About 3/4 cup prepared salsa, give or take a little

2-3 cloves garlic

3 teaspoons cumin, divided

1 bag frozen corn kernels (or you can used sweet corn off the cob)

about 1/4  teaspoon cayenne pepper (more for a kick)

Salt and black pepper to taste

Corn or whole-wheat flour tortillas, depending on your taste

Spinach

Cilantro, roughly chopped

2-3 green onions, chopped

Feta cheese, crumbled or cut into cubes

Jarred roasted red peppers, cut into strips or chopped

1. Bring black beans, salsa, garlic and half of cumin to simmer in a large saucepan. Reduce heat to medium and allow to cook for about 5 minutes, or until it thickens a little.

2. In another skillet, coated with cooking spray, toast corn with remaining cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper over medium-high heat. Stirring often, cook for 5-1o minutes or until golden in color. (Once corn is done, you can combine with the black beans, or leave by itself.)

3. Warm tortillas on skillet until soft, so they are easier to handle.

4. Fill the tortillas with beans & corn. Sprinkle with spinach, cilantro, green onions, feta cheese, and roasted red peppers.

(Spinach isn’t in this pic.)

Delicious and nutritious!

What are your favorite vegetarian dishes to make?

I hope your day, wherever you are, is beautiful :)

Abby


Leave a Reply

