salmon + salsa, two ways

Standard

I started off my day at 6 AM, getting up early for a run-together with the XC team. Waking up to the sounds of nature is peaceful and soothing. The weather has been so nice that we’ve turned off the air conditioning. I got to sleep with my windows open last night!  Lovin’ this weather :) My run this morning was FANtastic. I felt like a pushed it, and just ran; I wasn’t going to settle for junk miles. I was equipped with some of my new knowledge from cross-country camp. I feel like I’m turning over a new leaf!

Do you like fish? I sure like fish. Salmon is one of my favorites, and it is fullllll of healthy goodness! If my Dad and I aren’t feeling too adventurous at the fish counter, we always fall back on salmon. It’s such a beautiful fish, too: bright & orange, like a lily flower.

Simple Salmon

While I was in Texas, my cousin Christina made delicious salmon. She marinated the fish in lime juice & cilantro before baking. It was simple, and the flavors of the marinade enhanced the flavor of the fish. The recipe below is the usual way to make salmon at my house, and it allows you to really taste the flavor of the salmon, too. Enjoy!

  • 6-ounce pieces of wild caught salmon
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Lightly dress salmon with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

3. Bake salmon for 15-20 minutes, or until desired doneness is reached.

Black-Eyed Pea Salsa

This salsa is typically served with salmon at my house. It’s a delicious blend of black-eyed peas, corn, red peppers, and onion. We make a big batch because I love to eat it for lunch the next day, sprinkled with a little freshly grated Asiago cheese and a hunk of bread. This salsa is also wonderful cold, as is the black bean salsa recipe below.

  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 bag frozen corn kernels
  • 2 cans black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained
  • Chicken stock (or vegetable stock)
  • Salt & pepper

1. Coat the bottom of a large saucepan with olive oil.

2. Sauté garlic on medium high heat.

3. Add in onion and allow to cook for a few minutes, stirring every once in a while to prevent burning.

4. Add in diced bell pepper, corn, and black-eyed peas. Allow to cook until the bell pepper is a bit softened.

5. Add in chicken or vegetable stock, twice around the pan. Sprinkle in salt and pepper to taste.

6. Reduce the heat to low and cover, allowing the all of the flavors to get to know each other until dinner is ready!

Black Bean Salsa

This salsa is a reminiscent of yesterday’s post. In fact, this would be a delicious filling for tacos! This recipe was my dad’s recreation of a salsa he had at a new Mexican restaurant in Iowa City. It was fabulous!

  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1 bag frozen corn kernels
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 large handful roughly chopped cilantro
  • Salt

1. Coat the bottom of a large saucepan with olive oil.

2. Sauté garlic on medium high heat.

3. Add in onion and allow to cook for a few minutes, stirring every once in a while to prevent burning.

4. Add in diced green & red bell pepper, corn, and black beans. Allow to cook until the bell pepper is a bit softened. Turn heat down to low.

5. When dinner is about ready to be served, add in 2 diced tomatoes, so the tomatoes remain somewhat intact, but still provide a bit of liquid to the salsa.

6. Lastly, add in cilantro and gently stir to combine. Sprinkle in salt.

If you’re not partial to cilantro, you can sub it for parsley.

All of these colors make me smile :) Either of these salsas are excellent additions to salmon. They are colorful & bright, plus full of healthy flavor.

What is your favorite season? Do you make certain foods during certain seasons?

My favorite season is fall. Not too hot, not too cold. The colors of fall are beautiful and vivid, and to me, it’s brings a sense of new beginning because of the start of school. I also love going to football games! We usually make foods year round at my house, except for soup. During the winter months we frequently make chili or sausage corn chowder. Also, we have more sweet potatoes during the fall and winter.

It’s almost the weekend! Tomorrow I’m going out for lunch with my friend Sara to Oasis. I’m also hoping to get some running and yoga in. Have a great Friday!

Abby

P.S. Thank you for bearing with me as I experiment with different blog designs. I’m still trying to figure things out!

Leave a Reply

