a missouri meal

Standard

Happy Sunday! Dad and I started off the day with a bowl of Cousin Christina’s Apple Oatmeal (with bananas, walnuts, and raisins), a glass of green juice (a.k.a. Green Monster Naked Juice or Superfood), and a mini Babybel cheese round. Dad cut the grass and I worked on some laundry. Later we’re going for a nature hike in the woods! It’s super humid & sticky out (where did that lovely weather go?), but I’m determined to take a hike :)

Last night, Dad and I pondered what to make for dinner for some time. It seemed like nothing sounded good, and when something did, it didn’t to the other person. Dad wanted BLT’s, I wanted fish, nothing too high-key…we were faced with a dilemma! What really sounded good to me was a nice, juicy burger, but we’d just had those, and I like to try to have red meat only once a week. But, I thought, why couldn’t I still have a burger? Just a different kind? I suggested to Dad having a pork burger, and this is what he came up with…

Missouri-Style Pork with Sauerkraut Mashed Potatoes

When my dad went down to Missouri to visit my mom’s parents for the first time, this is the meal they made for him. It’s one of my mom’s favorite meals. My dad and I have made it a bit healthier, skipping out on fatty pork sausage and a bunch of butter in the potatoes. This is definitely a comfort meal, one of those homestyle dinners that’s incredibly simple and SO dang delicious. I usually don’t drool over meat, but this pork was amazingly flavorful and juicy. It was special to make it last night, remembering Mom. While preparing dinner, Dad and I munched on fresh mango slices. I’d never had fresh mango before! It was crisp, refreshing, and sweet! While Dad was in Panama during his Army days, he used to pick mangoes from the trees and eat them. Here’s dinner:

  • 1 pound lean ground pork (this will make 4 “hamburger sized” patties, 1 per person)
  • Salt & pepper
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Paprika (I used Smoked Sweet Spanish Paprika)

1. Combine ground pork & all seasonings.

2. Form patties, handling as little as possible.

3. Place patties on a greased (I used cooking spray) skillet and turn heat onto medium.

4. Allow patties to cook until the bottom is nicely browned, about 5-8 minutes.

5. Flip patties and continue to cook until other side is browned and the patties are cooked all the way through, about another 5 minutes.

MMM..the Smoked Sweet Spanish Paprika combined with the spicy red pepper flakes REALLY made these “sausages” super flavorful & delicious! (Thanks, Christina, for the spice!)

For the mashed potatoes…

  • 5-6 Yukon gold potatoes, chopped into 1 inch pieces
  • 3 tablespoons whipped butter (I found this while searching for a “healthier” alternative to butter. This is butter, it has just been whipped, which cuts back the total fat from 11 grams to 6 grams, and the  saturated fat from 7 grams to 3.5 grams!)
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup of milk (use skim or 1%)
  • Salt & pepper
  • Sauerkraut

1. Place chopped potatoes in a pot with water, and boil until fork tender (just like making pasta).

2. Drain water, and mash potatoes with butter & milk, adding more milk if necessary.

3. Sprinkle with salt & pepper, and top tangy sauerkraut!

It may seem a bit..weird, but trust me–it’s the balance between creamy potatoes and tangy, salty sauerkraut is perfect.

Enjoyed while watching the movie Open Range, one of my dad’s favorite movies about cowboys.

The perfect Saturday night meal, complete with a big glass of milk and an apple spice bar (for me) and raspberry cheesecake (for Dad) for dessert.

Do you have any special homestyle comfort meals?

I think if I had been away for a long time, I would want my Dad to make his pasta…it’s just homey.

Abby

P.S. Head on over to Sara’s Blog to see her exciting news! I’m so happy for her! (And check out her delicious, healthy recipes…Pumpkin-CranRaisin Whole Wheat Muffins are my fav!)

One response »

  1. YUM! I love sauerkraut! I could eat it out of the jar. Of course J does not like it which I can’t see how with a last name like Schwertfeger.
    It’s great that you and your dad can share these times and memories toghether.
    Sara

Leave a Reply

