quinoa tabbouleh salad

Standard

It seems as if these past two days have been nothing but busy. I feel like I’ve been doing the go-go-go! On Monday, I started off the day with weights + 3 miler, then lunch, school newspaper meeting, doctor’s appointment, bank, home. Whew! It was a busy afternoon. After I got back home from the bank, I settled down with some of my favorite hydrating liquid (an organic version of Gatorade, I was feeling wayyy dehydrated) and watched the movie Brothers. Oh wow. SUCH a great movie! It was one of those heart-wrenching, suspenseful war-like movies. I have always had respect for those serving our country, especially given that Dad (and now Andy, too) served in the military, but that gratitude and respect was amplified after I watched Brothers. If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out!

Today was the first official day of cross-country practice. We ran a brisk 4 miles on one of my favorite routes. It was a good run; I felt like I picked up the pace and challenged myself to keep fighting the urge to slow down. Now, my goal is to maintain contact! This is one of my biggest struggles with running; even though there are 30+ girls running at the same time, I seem to find myself running alone, somewhere in between the front and back groups. Just another thing to think about! After cross-country, I math tutored, drove to my orthodontist appointment, Walgreens, the mall, got gas, and then came home (finally..it was long past my lunch time: I was starving!). After lunch I did some lounging–playing with my new phone (!) and then organizing. I feel like I got a lot accomplished today!

Monday and today seemed to fly by like that! Just more reason to take a moment every day (or every hour, for that matter) and take a few breaths and relax. Anywho, enough of my rambling :) Today’s post is about a delish salad my dad recreated (just like he recreated that black bean salsa) after having it at New Pioneer. This salad is refreshing & light, while packing TONS of flavor and nutrients! (Did you know that quinoa is a complete source of protein?) Tabbouleh is Mediterranean, and usually has tomatoes, parsley, mint, and green onions (cucumber is added here).

Quinoa Tabbouleh Salad

  • 1.5 cups quinoa
  • 1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 cucumber, peeled & chopped into one inch cubes
  • 1 bunch scallions, chopped finely
  • 1 big handful parsley, chopped finely
  • 1 handful mint, chopped finely
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Big drizzle of olive oil

1. Cook quinoa. Quinoa is a 2: 1 ratio of water: quinoa. Bring three cups water to a boil and add quinoa. Stir. Reduce to simmer and allow to cook for 10 minutes, covered (quinoa is supposed to be crunchy–if this doesn’t appeal to you, brown rice or Mediterranean couscous would work, too).

2. In a large bowl, combine quinoa and all other ingredients. Refrigerate if desired before serving. Enjoy!

Enjoy!

Abby

Leave a Reply

