USMA Trip, Monday: The Final Stretch

Standard

After getting nice & rested up at a hotel, Dad and I began the final day of driving. We figured to arrive home around 7:30 PM. We had a 12 hour drive ahead of us, and we wanted to get home at a decent hour.

Nothing very exciting happened during our 12 hour drive, except maybe a 15 minute total traffic stop (which, really, wasn’t exciting). Dad and I just chatted, I blog searched on my phone, and enjoyed the scenery.

Driving attempt to capture the beauty of the road trip scenery…look at all that green!

The day did seem to go by pretty quickly, though! Once we made it to Iowa City, we stopped by Oasis for a quick dinner of falafel sandwiches. Yum-o!

It felt great to finally be home! While I enjoyed my weekend at USMA tremendously and loved seeing Andy, being in a familiar place, especially home, was refreshing.

Going on this trip has me thinking about whether I would want to attend USMA. It is a fantastic school (ranked Number Four in American by Forbes), and I am a school-junkie. There are SO many opportunities that come along with attending USMA, both during school and after graduating. It is structured, and I love scheduling and organization. Plus, you get to wear a uniform (which, secretly, I would really like). There is also the fact of serving our country, which is a great honor and duty. Ronald Reagan put it this way (tweaked a bit by me):

“Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a difference in the world, but the Marines don’t (insert Army doesn’t) have that problem.”

CBT would be a big challenge for me. But something, I think, I could overcome. There is so much to think about when considering my post-secondary education. Sometimes, it is overwhelming, but I just need to remember to follow my heart and be true to myself. I am lucky to have gotten a first-hand look at USMA’s campus. And that I have a cadet in the family who can answer any questions I have :)

This wraps up the USMA adventures. It seems crazy that a week ago I would be almost home!

All for now,

Abby

2 responses »

  1. What a lovely time with family! I enjoyed al the pics of your drives – almost like I got to see the scenery too…two years left of HS, what a time to explore!

  2. This is very nice Abby. Its so cool you got to experience this, I feel like you can understand where I’m coming from when I talk about joining the Marine Corps. Well I think you have always understood, just better, on a more personal level. Sure its a little different, but there is still that sense of honor, pride, and sacrifice. Just reading this makes me overwhelmed with pride! OORAH!!! or as they say in the Army, HORAH! :) Semper fi!

Leave a Reply

