homemade applesauce

Standard

This weekend, four Pink Lady apples stared at me from the fruit bowl, wishfully waiting to somehow be eaten. Their going-to-be-bad-in-a-couple-of-days skin was outshined by the luscious Honeycrisp apples that are currently occupying the fruit bowl. Throughout the entire year, minus the fall, the sweet Pink Ladies are my favorite apple. When the leaves start changing and the weather becomes cooler, I anxiously await for the Honeycrisp apples to pop up in the grocery store. The sweet & juicy Honeycrisps are my absolute favorite apple. I knew the Pink Ladies  could feel my neglect as they were chosen over by the Honeycrisps, and I just couldn’t bear to let the apples go bad. I decided to make applesauce! With the weather becoming more fall-like, applesauce sounded cozy and comfortable.

Homemade Applesauce

The applesauce recipes I skimmed on the Internet suggested making the applesauce with good cooking apples, but I think any apples will do. Many of the recipes also called for three to four pounds of apples. I only had four individual apples, which I estimated must at least be a pound. These four apples made the perfect amount of applesauce for me, about 2 cups. You may want to increase the proportions because this applesauce is crazy good. I spiced and sweetened up the apples with cinnamon and organic evaporated cane juice. You could also toss in a little honey or pure maple syrup. Next time I’ll nix the sugar (or try pure maple syrup for a deep, warm flavor) because the apples are already deliciously sweet from their natural sugar. Depending on the tartness/sweetness of the apples, you may have to adjust the sugar levels, if adding sweetener.

  • 4 apples, peeled, cored, and chopped into around 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon zest
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons organic evaporated cane juice
  • 1/2 cup water

1. Put all ingredients into a pot and bring to a boil.

2. Reduce heat and simmer for about 75 minutes, checking occasionally to see if the apples are soft. (This time may be less, depending on the size of the pot.)

3. Once the apples have become soft, use a potato masher to mash the apples into the desired consistency. For thinner applesauce, use a hand blender or food processor.

This applesauce is delicious right on its own. I think it would also be wonderful atop vanilla yogurt or hot oatmeal for breakfast, or served warm over vanilla ice cream for dessert.

Enjoy Labor Day!

Abby

3 responses »

  1. Abby:

    This recipe sounds great, and you are a fantastic writer!

    My wife makes apple-nectarine sauce, and I would highly recommend it. Use a 2:1 apple to nectarine ratio, and use some allspice and star anise in addition to the cinnamon.

    Keep blogging, and go food!

    =Mr. C

    • The apple-nectarine sauce sounds awesome! I had my first nectarine a few weeks ago (don’t know how I went so long without ever trying them) and am permanently hooked!

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

