long time, no see + vegan pumpkin bread

Standard

I knew I was nearing the point of blog-withdrawal when every thought, idea, or recipe adventure that popped into my head yesterday concluded in…”I have got to mention that on my blog!” I’m so sorry it has been this long. Almost two entire weeks since I have posted! Honestly, I feel a bit guilty, considering I only have two classes. I mean, c’mon–I should have time to update the blog every couple of days, right? Well, the truth is that I have been busy, despite my two class schedule. Cross-country occupies a large chunk of my afternoon, and oh boy, have the practices been intense lately! My feet are adorned with blisters, and I walk the hallways of school half awake, exhausted from practice and early morning wake-ups. If I could describe how I felt the past two weeks in 3 words, this would be it: I am tired. But, the great thing is, because our coaches have been pushing our comfort zones and challenging us every single practice, I am in the best shape ever and am seeing improvements in my running–physically and mentally. I’ve already reached my season goal of under 20 minutes for a 4K race (19:57), and strive to continue shaving off time. So, I can’t complain of tiredness or lack of a 9 hour night’s sleep (although I should be working on getting to bed at a decent hour). I am becoming such a better runner, and that is a great feeling!

Besides cross-country, my nights have been busy with DEEP, dance class, and tutoring. DEEP (Discipleship, Evangelization, Encouragement, Prayer) is a recently formed teen-lead faith group that focuses on Bible study, community service, prayer, and support. A main goal of this group is to be teen-lead…taking matters into our hands & taking our  faith into our own hands. I think as we continue to develop into young adults, it is important for us to take a more prominent role in our journeys of faith. Having that experience with other young adults who also share a passion, and desire, for faith will be satisfying. I am excited for the possibilities of this new group!

Today’s recipe is something. I have never made anything vegan before, and really, I wasn’t interested in the recipe because it was vegan, even though being vegan made the recipe more interesting. (Did that make any sense?) And, with fall quickly approaching (next week), my craving for fall foods has been in full swing. When I think of fall foods, I think of apples, squash (especially sweet potatoes), pumpkin, hearty soups, and chili. Warm, comforting dishes. Today I was in the baking mood, and I immediately thought pumpkin. I had looked at this recipe various times before today, always putting it off for the reason that pumpkin is a fall ingredient; I had to wait until it was a little bit chilly outside before I made the bread. I’m glad I didn’t put it off any longer.

Vegan Pumpkin Bread as seen on Joy the Baker

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups white whole-wheat flour
  • 2 cups brown sugar, loosely packed
  • 1/3 cup white sugar (I used OECJ)
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1 15-ounce can pumpkin purée
  • 1 cup light oil, such as canola
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (use the real stuff!)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Walnuts, pecans, raisins, chocolate chips (optional)

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray two loaf pans with non-stick spray.

2. Whisk together flours, sugars, baking powder and soda, spices, and salt in a large bowl.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, oil, maple syrup, and water until thoroughly mixed.

4. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, until just combined.

5. If desired, fold in mix-ins (about a cup total).

6. Evenly divide the pumpkin bread batter between the two loaf pans. Here, instead of mixing in the mix-ins, I sprinkled about 1/3 cup (total) of roughly chopped walnuts and pecans.

7. Bake for about an hour, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for 20 minutes in pan, and then flip out and place on a cooling rack. Serve warm, and if desired, with a slather of butter and a tall glass of milk. This bread can be enjoyed for many days.

As the bread was baking away in the oven, the house was filled with the scent of warm cinnamon, reminding me of Thanksgiving and my grandma’s pumpkin pie.

That’s all I have for now, but I think I’ve got the blogging bug..expect more soon!

Leave a Reply

