weekend re-cap + oh so delicious brownies

Standard

As my Vegan Pumpkin Bread was baking the other day, I decided to go outside on the porch & read Harry Potter, my current “fun” read. It was a beautiful afternoon, with a light breeze and sunshine peeking through the clouds. Usually dear old Harry, Ron, Hermione, and the magical adventures at Hogwarts can capture my attention for hours on end, but I found myself not being able to follow the story.

I was on baking-mode.

My hands yearned to measure flour, cream butter, crack an egg. I had just made bread, but I wanted to bake something more. But what would I make? I didn’t have any special ingredients for a new recipe; I just had staples. I looked in the fridge for a spark of inspiration and found…blueberries & yogurt. Blueberry muffins! Yes, I know, I have a minor addiction to muffins and all things blueberry, but the yogurt was about to go bad. I couldn’t just waste it. So, by the time my pumpkin bread was done in the oven, a half-batch of blueberry muffins (made with plain yogurt instead of Greek) was made and ready to bake! 25 minutes later, the kitchen was full of warm, buttery blueberry muffins, and my baking craving was satisfied :)

In other news (sort of), Saturday was a non-stop day! I worked my first Saturday morning shift at Savvy. I had requested working at this time because I knew (or I was hopeful, at least) it would be busier than when I typically work. I was not disappointed! For the 6.5-hour shift I worked, there was always a mocha or latte to be made, always someone to help. Being so busy made the time go by so fast, and before I knew it, my shift was over! After work, I went home and made a grilled sandwich for lunch (turkey, veggie Neufchâtel, spinach, tomato, red onion on whole-wheat). I gobbled it, along with a Honeycrisp apple, right up..I hadn’t realized I was so hungry!

The rest of the afternoon went by just as quickly as work. My dad’s girlfriend (Gayle) had asked me to make a pan of brownies for her daughter’s birthday, so I whipped up my mom’s brownies (Which, by the way, the last time I made them, my dad declared them “the best brownies he’s ever had.” A huge complement! I have my mom to thank for that one.). I have to admit, they are good brownies. Thick, rich, gooey, chocolate-y brownies that require a large glass of milk, and if you are so inclined, vanilla ice cream or Cool-whip (yeah, that stuff in the tub..Cool-whip!). I stick to my mom’s original recipe, except for one area: I add more cocoa. Just a few extra Tablespoons does the trick, and the rich, deep dish brownies are guaranteed to be gone quite soon. I’ve posted the recipe already on the blog, but I thought I’d share it again today.

Kay’s Deep Dish Brownies

The original recipe calls for ingredients to fit an 8×8 inch square pan. Somehow I’ve managed to lose our square dish, so now I always double the recipe to fit a 9×13 inch pan. Those measurements are in parentheses ( ). I also like this recipe because it is a one-bowl-wonder. Just measure the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt right into the wet ingredients, combining from there.

  • 1.5 (3) sticks butter, melted
  • 1.5 (3) cups white sugar
  • 1.5 (3) teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 (6) eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 (1.5) cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup + 3 Tablespoons (1 cup + 3 Tablespoons) Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 (1) teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 (1) teaspoon salt

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Spray desired baking dish liberally with cooking spray. I mean, really spray that thing.

3. Beat melted butter, sugar, and vanilla until thick, creamy, and pale yellow in color.

4. Add in eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

5. Measure flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt into same bowl. Beat carefully until combined. The batter should be thick and deep brown in color.

6. Spread into baking pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the brownies begin to pull away at the edges of the pan, and an inserted toothpick comes out moist, but clean.

Making these brownies (and baking in general) is always fun, and I thought to myself…I could bake as a “side job!” It would be like having my own bakery; making treats for birthdays, celebrations, and classroom events. Maybe I’ll have to advertise :)

Have a wonderful Sunday!

Leave a Reply

