snickerdoodles

Standard

I love the name for the deliciously buttery, cinnamon spiced, crispy, yet cakey, cookies. Snickerdoodle invokes a feeling of fun, light-heartedness & happiness. I decided to make these cookies as a Saturday afternoon project, when I was becoming tired of watching my beloved Food Network. At first, I wasn’t even sure what I was going to bake. I went looking in the kitchen for some sort of inspiration, pulling this & that out of cupboards. I found my inspiration as I peered into a jar (actually, my Grandma uses old oatmeal containers–they make lovely storing devices) of my Grandma’s molasses cookies (gingersnaps, that is) that she had baked for my dad. The sparkly sugar-coating of the molasses reminded me instantly of the cinnamon sugar-coated Snickerdoodles. They seemed like the perfect cookie to make with their warm, cinnamon flavor. I had never made Snickerdoodles before, so this would be an adventure!

I went browsing on the Internet for the perfect recipe, as I love browsing through different blogs. My good friend Lisa made a delectable batch of Snickerdoodles for me one time that were paper-thin, but so soft, so I hoped to find something that was reminiscent of her cookies. I also wanted to make mine with butter–no shortening here. I found a recipe on smittenkitchen.com, one of my favorite sites for its simplicity and scrumptious recipes. Funnily enough, this recipe was the same as my grandma’s recipe for Snickerdoodles except that it swapped all the shortening for butter!

Snickerdoodles as seen on smittenkitchen.com

When I baked these, the scent of warm cinnamon swirled throughout the kitchen. Even a few hours after the baking had stopped, the cinnamon scent lingered, and I couldn’t help but smile. There’s just something about the warm, spicy aroma of cinnamon that brightens everything up. Eat them right out of the oven, when the cookies are still hot and soft; the lovely perfume of cinnamon + sugar + butter is pure bliss. Or, patiently wait a little to allow the crispy edges to form and the center to become just a bit chewy. Either way, you can’t go wrong with a Snickerdoodle.

This recipe didn’t call for vanilla extract. However, I threw in a teaspoon, as I think it brightens up the flavor of any baked good. This recipe also makes a whole bunch of cookies…about 4 dozen!

  • 2 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon table salt (1/2 teaspoon kosher)
  • 2 sticks butter, softened (I prefer salted, as I like my baked goods saltier)
  • 1 1/2 cups + 1/8 granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon

1. Combine dry ingredients into a bowl and set aside.

2. In another bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

3. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract.

4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until combined.

5. If desired or needed, refrigerate dough for 1 hour or overnight (refrigeration may be needed as the dough may be sticky).

6. When ready to bake, pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

7. In a small bowl, mix 1/8 cup sugar + 1 Tablespoon cinnamon.

8. Roll dough into small balls, a little smaller than a golf ball.

9. Roll dough balls in cinnamon sugar mixture until well coated.

10. Place dough balls on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet. If a thin cookie is desired, use the bottom of a glass to gently push the dough into a flat shape. (I did some testing as I made these cookies. Not flattening the dough out makes a puffier cookie. Flattening the dough out makes the cookies crispier around the edges, although they’re still soft in the middle, which are closer to my friend’s cookies. I enjoyed them either way. Experiment to find your favorite!)

11. Bake for 9 minutes. Allow to cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheet, and then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely. Store immediately after cooled in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

