sugared almonds

Standard

On Saturday, myself and a couple of girlfriends took a little road trip up to the UNI-Dome to watch the Spartans play in the Championship Football Game (Spartans won 45-7..4 years-in-a-row State Champs!).

Emily, Angel, and I

I played chauffeur, and I decided to provide my passengers with a basketful of treats to munch on during the ride. One of the goodies was sugared almonds: roasted almonds coated in honey and butter, then tossed in sugar.

Sugared Almonds (guided by recipe in Family Circle Magazine)

I have wanted to make these almonds ever since I had them at Christmastime in Italy, where street vendors sell them fresh & hot. There’s nothing like walking along Christmas Alley, the scent of sugary almonds lingering in the cool winter air.

  • 1 cup almonds (Use any kind you have on hand; I had sprouted almonds, but regular works, too.)
  • 1 tablespoon butter (give or take)
  • 2 tablespoons honey (give or take)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup sugar (I used organic evaporated cane juice, a.k.a. organic sugar, because the grains are larger. Regular granulated sugar will work fine, you may just want to go on the lower end of the measurement. I would also recommend using Turbinado sugar for a nice crunch.)

1. Place almonds on a cookie sheet and roast at 350 degrees (no need to pre-heat) until fragrant. This may take anywhere 8-20 minutes. (You may skip this part, if desired, but roasting the almonds brings out their flavor.)

2. While the almonds are roasting away in the oven, melt the butter and honey together in a small-ish pan over medium heat. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and stir.

3. Once the almonds are done, add them to the honey-butter mixture. Toss until the honey-butter mixture has coated all almonds.

4. Add the almonds to a reusable container or plastic bag. Pour in sugar, and shake until well coated (there will probably be some excess sugar).

5. Place sugared almonds on a parchment or wax paper lined baking pan (or cooling rack) to allow to cool before serving or storing. Or, enjoy them hot–just like in Italy!

I would love to experiment with different spices: cinnamon, cayenne, etc. The possibilities are endless!

Happy Sunday!

Abby

2 responses »

  1. I have scrolled through 12 entries and have read each one from top to bottom. I plan on making the sugared almonds as it looks easy and sounds delicious. I would also like to try the turkey and leeks pie. I am truly enjoying your blog. I’ll be a regular reader
    .

    • Mrs. Clingerman-

      Beware: the sugared almonds can become addictive :)

      The leek and turkey pie is delicious; even my brother, who likes his meat very much, and was skeptical to all of the veggies in the pie, had two helpings! It is a wonderfully cozy winter meal.

Leave a Reply

