oatmeal raisin cookies + a flashback

Standard

This afternoon, after my last-minute Christmas shopping was done, I sat on the couch, twiddling my thumbs, pondering what I would do with my free, I-don’t-have-to-do-homework evening.

And then I had a craving for oatmeal raisin cookies.

Sweetly enough, all of the ingredients were in-house AND I had finally located my Jimmy Buffett Christmas music; a festive winter afternoon of holiday baking was in full swing.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies recipe loosely adapted from allrecipes.com

*I halved this recipe, as I thought since we already had a mole of cookies in the house, half a recipe would be satisfactory. Half a recipe makes roughly 2 dozen cookies.

  • 1 stick butter or butter substitute (I used the rest of my Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks.)
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup flour (Today I used 1/2 cup all-purpose and 1/4 cup white whole-wheat.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Pinch or two of cloves
  • 1 1/2 cups (+) oats (I like to use a combination of old-fashioned oats and quick oats (most oatmeal raisin recipes call for only old-fashioned), and I also like to add extra oats. Today I used 1 cup quick oats + 3/4 cup old-fashioned oats.)
  • 1/2 cup raisins

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Cream butter and sugars. Add in egg and vanilla, and mix until incorporated.

3. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and cloves. Add to wet ingredients and stir until combined.

4. Mix in oats and raisins.

5. Drop onto a cookie sheet that has been lightly greased. For a flatter cookie, lightly press down the dough.

6. Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until the cookies look set (be careful not to over bake, as these cookies become hard quickly); I baked mine today for roughly 10 minutes.

I was super excited to take pictures of the cookies today. I finally understand (sort-of) how to use my camera!  The camera was a gift from my dad before we went on summer holiday to Italy a few years back. Below are a few pictures from that trip.

A snapshot of the sky, how beautiful the world is.

The view from the top of "los pasos españoles" in the Piazza di Spagna.

The hotel we stayed at on the island of Ischia.

Enjoying lunch on Ischia, feasting on the favorite pasta arrabiata, a.k.a. "angry pasta."

Boats anchored away in the Mediterranean Sea.

La dolce vita!

And now on to the cookie pictures, the real star of the show..

These oatmeal raisin cookies will bring you warmth on a chilly winter’s day. Have a happy first day of winter!

Leave a Reply

