sautéed brussels sprouts & leeks

Standard

We did not start eating Brussels sprouts at my house (at least, from what I remember) until a few years ago. My dad loved them, and even my brother liked them, so I thought that I, not too picky about vegetables, would enjoy them too. Not so much–to me they tasted bitter and chemical-ly. I thought Brussels sprouts might be one of those “acquired tastes,” like coffee, so I kept eating them in the hopes they would grow on me. The taste did become a smidgen more appealing after some time, but I mostly ate them because I knew they were good for me.

One night, not too long ago, my dad prepared Brussels sprouts in a new way (usually the veggies were steamed and sprinkled with salt and pepper). He sautéed the little green cabbages in extra-virgin olive oil and sprinkled them with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. The results were tender, oh so delicious Brussels sprouts with a kick.

I made these Brussels sprouts (combined with melt-in-your-mouth leeks) the other day for a light lunch.

Sautéed Brussels Sprouts and Leeks–With a Kick

  • Brussels sprouts, halved
  • Leeks, sliced
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste

1. Coat a sauté pan with extra-virgin olive oil, and bring to medium heat.

2. Once the oil is hot, add the Brussels sprouts, leeks, and salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

3. Toss the veggies around in the extra-virgin olive oil and spices until well-coated.

Before covering.

4. Turn down the hit to medium, cover, and allow the veggies to cook until they become tender and a bit browned (5-10 minutes).

After covering.

Happy New Year!
One response »

  1. this looks yum. I like brussel sprouts and love leeks but barely eat them..gonna make this sometime this week, need to eat more greens

Leave a Reply

