honey banana bread

Standard

When there are over-ripe bananas in the house, I hate to just throw them out. Usually, my dad and I eat a bunch of bananas easily; we put slices of them in oatmeal or cereal for breakfast, and I pack them for lunch or a quick, portable snack. Sometimes, however, the bananas ripen too fast for us. But, I do not fret; I am always up for baking, and over-ripe bananas provide a wonderful starting point for a baking creation.

I have another banana bread recipe on my blog, but the last time I made it, I was thought it to be a little dull and dry. So, I opted to try a new recipe. The big differences between the new and old recipe are:

  • The new recipe sweetens the bread by using half sugar and half honey, whereas the old recipe used only sugar. I liked the idea of using half sugar and half honey because it is less refined sugar, and I also thought the honey would increase the moistness of the bread.
  • In the new recipe, the mashed bananas are folded in after the wet and dry ingredients have been combined. The old recipe combined the mashed bananas with the wet ingredients before incorporating the dry ingredients. I thought folding in the bananas would let the fruit have more presence in the bread.

Honey Banana Bread found via lovintheoven.com, who found via mymansbelly.com

  • 1 1/3 cups flour (I used 1 cup white whole-wheat flour and 1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (Sprinkle in as much cinnamon, nutmeg, and other spices as you like!)
  • 5 Tablespoons butter or butter substitute, melted (I used Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks.)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 over-ripe bananas, mashed

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Thoroughly grease a loaf pan.

2.Whisk together dry ingredients in bowl. Set aside.

3. Blend butter or butter substitute, sugar, honey, and vanilla until yellow and fluffy.

4. Beat in eggs one at a time, thoroughly combining after each addition.

5. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in three parts, incorporating the dry ingredients well before adding more.

6. Fold in mashed bananas.

7. Place batter in prepared loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

8. Allow the bread to cool in loaf pan for 10-15 minutes before flipping it out of the pan.

The verdict? Wonderful! I think this recipe yielded a much moister, flavorful bread. I absolutely love seeing the pieces of banana throughout the loaf, and I love biting into them even more. A small change I will make next time is to bake the bread on the lower end of the suggested baking time.

Have a wonderful and safe Monday!

4 responses »

  1. Abby, I’m finishing up the last piece of banana bread right now as I read your blog. It’s REALLY slow at work right now. The bread is delicious and I think I have eaten at least 3/4 of it! Thanks, Brian

Leave a Reply

