honey banana bread, all spruced up

Standard

On Saturday, I took the SAT at Coe College. Let’s just say that after five solid hours of sitting in a desk, filling in seemingly endless bubbles, my brain was feeling a bit woozy. When I returned home, I needed a little therapy. What is my therapy? Baking, of course! I decided to make banana bread yet again, as nothing is more comforting or therapeutic than baking bread.

I made Honey Banana Bread, only I added a little extra love by sprucing up the ingredients. My changes are noted in green. Enjoy!

Honey Banana Bread, All Spruced Up

  • 1 1/3 cups flour (This time, I used 2/3 cup white whole-wheat flour + 1/3 cup whole-wheat flour + 1/3 cup wheat germ.)
  • 2/3 cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (Sprinkle in as much cinnamon, nutmeg, and other spices as you like!)
  • 5 Tablespoons butter or butter substitute, melted
  • 1/3 cup sugar (I used 3 Tablespoons white sugar + 3 Tablespoons dark brown sugar.)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk (I added the milk to make up for the 1/2 banana.)
  • 3 over-ripe bananas, mashed (I used 2 1/2 over-ripe bananas because that was all I had.)
  • 1/4 cup raisins (I used 2 Tablespoons golden raisins + 2 Tablespoons regular raisins, just to use up what I had on hand.)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Thoroughly grease a loaf pan (I used a slightly smaller loaf pan and made five muffins.)

2.Whisk together dry ingredients, including wheat germ and oatmeal,  in bowl. Set aside.

3. Blend butter or butter substitute, sugars, honey, and vanilla until yellow and fluffy. (The mixture will not appear yellow if dark brown sugar is used.)

4. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in three parts, incorporating the dry ingredients well before adding more.

5. The original recipe mixed in the beaten eggs after the wet and dry ingredients had been combined. The last time I made this, I thought that sounded funky, so I proceeded to beat the eggs in with the other wet ingredients. This time, however, since I was changing up the recipe, I decided to give it a whirl. Beat two eggs with 1/4 cup milk. Add to dough (wet and dry ingredients that have already been mixed) and combine.

6. Fold in mashed bananas, raisins, and walnuts.

7. Place batter in prepared loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

8. Allow the bread to cool in loaf pan for 10-15 minutes before flipping it out of the pan.


Happy Sunday!

5 responses »

  1. These muffins look great, Abby! Also, can you tell me more about the ACT? What math did they ask about? What was the science portion like? Do you feel that Solon prepared you for it? Have a great weekend!

  2. Yum, the muffins look great and I am sure they are as good as they look. I must make some soon. I hope the test was not too difficult but a test can make you very tired if it is so long. Where is the college where you took the test? GRANNIE E<

  3. I found this on a google search. :) I made this bread tonight except I used regular flour (used all my wheat flour in another recipe). I put a ton of cinnamon and nutmeg and extra banana. Also, I didn’t use any sugar… I put extra honey in it and I LOVE IT! Best bread I have made in a while. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

