the figge

Standard

I recently took a day trip to the Figge (fig-ee) Art Museum in Davenport, Iowa, with my friend Zabet. The Figge has a wide variety of artwork, but the pieces that caught my attention were abstractly painted with bold strokes and a large emphasis on color. I believe these abstract pieces of artwork grasp my attention and appeal to me because I love painting with bold strokes and colors. I find something so powerful and beautiful in the seemingly simple art of using color to make a statement; no intricate forms or exquisitely drawn figures, but bold, beautiful waves of color that speak volumes. These pieces of artwork remind me that one does not have to be an amazing still-life drawer to be an artist; I once thought this, but when I saw the wonderful abstract pieces at the Figge, I was reminded that whatever one puts his or her heart into is art. I paint the happiest when I stroke oranges, pinks, reds, and yellows onto paper; while working diligently on a still-life is rewarding when the product is complete, I can enjoy the process of abstract painting.

The works below are a few pieces I enjoyed at the Figge:

Red April (1970) by Sam Gilliam (Image found on http://uima.uiowa.edu/sam-gilliam/)

Mural (1943) by Jackson Pollock (Image found on http://uima.uiowa.edu/jackson-pollock/)

Joan Miró and His Daughter, Dolores, Tarragona, Spain (1948) by Irving Penn (Image found on http://arttattler.com/archivepenn.html)

While the above photograph is not abstract art, I found this photograph at the Figge to be extremely catching. The man appears to be very protective of the girl, his daughter: the look in his eyes says, “No one will mess with my daughter or with me.” The man’s hold of the girl’s hand seems more protective, and the girl’s hold on her father’s hand loving; in both instances, the same thought seems to occur: they will stick together. This photograph reminded me of my dad and I.
I had a lovely adventure at the Figge. I recommend taking a visit!

One response »

  1. Abby, Your description of the art museum sounds fantastic. The pictures you sent with your visit add almost made me feel like I was there. Thanks for sharing.
    Grandma Eckerle

Leave a Reply

