grandma ann’s peanut butter cookies

Standard

Happy Saturday!

It was another busy, go-go-go day, although not because of homework or track. I spent my Saturday working at Deluxe Bakery in Iowa City, fulfilling customers’ pastry orders, washing dishes, folding boxes, and making my first delivery. The Saturday before Easter is one of the bakery’s busiest days; there was never a dull moment! I am happy for the quiet, relaxing evening that awaits me, which includes: writing this post, a delicious Italian dinner, and perhaps watching a movie…although going to bed early might beat out the movie :)

And now for the star of the show…Two Christmases ago, I received a wonderful present from my Grandma Ann: a box full of baking goodies. (This was around the time I had really started to be interested in baking.) The box included such items as: a timer (which I use faithfully and take to carrying around the house when something is in the oven), a candy thermometer, a rolling-pin sleeve and rolling cloth (used for pie baking), and my own personalized apron. What I loved most out of the baking box, though, was a recipe book filled with my grandma’s recipes and designed by my Aunt Patricia.

The recipe book contains all of my grandma’s best recipes, from the family favorite chocolate chip cookies to her famous apple pie. I was honored and thrilled to have her treasured recipes in my possession. This collection of recipes is one of the best gifts I have ever received; thank you Grandma and Trish!

I am currently on a peanut butter kick (peanut butter oatmeal for breakfast almost every day this week!), so today I share my grandma’s peanut butter cookie recipe, with just a few tweaks made by me. These cookies have the perfect amount peanut butter-y flavor, sweetness, and the subtle hint of salt that I love in a cookie. Enjoy!

Grandma Ann’s Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1 stick butter, softened (Grandma uses shortening or half shortening, half butter.)
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I use Skippy Natural for these cookies.)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (Grandma omits this.)
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
1. Cream the butter, peanut butter, and sugars until fluffy and smooth.
2. Mix in the egg and vanilla extract.
3. Stir in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until the dough forms.
4. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until the dough is chilled, at least 30 minutes.
5. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. 
6. Roll dough into balls the size of walnuts and place 3 inches apart on a lightly greased baking sheet.
7. Flatten the balls with a fork dipped in flour by making a crisscross pattern.
8. Bake for 9 minutes (makes about 2 dozen cookies).
Grandma notes that this recipe can easily be doubled, but is perfect for two people!

Have a wonderful Easter!

One response »

  1. Such sweetness you send on Easter Eve!:)
    I made Sour cream coffee cake for tomorrow’s brunch-with inspiration from Cousin Abby-xo!

Leave a Reply

