kay’s deep dish brownies

Standard

Happy Easter!

I had a lovely Easter Sunday. My day was spent at the family cabin (running up hills!) and celebrating with family in Davenport with ham and hula-hooping. My twin cousins, Mary and Ellie, are in a hula-hooping phase. Mary has the hang of it, and Ellie is so determined to master the art. I had the record today with seventy-one hulas!

I have posted this recipe before on the blog, but without pictures to illustrate the process or to actually give you a glimpse at the wonderfully decadent, gooey chocolate goodness that are my mom’s brownies. This deep dish brownie recipe was a dessert my mom was famous for (as well as her oatmeal chocolate chip cookies). I always enjoy baking up a batch of these brownies because they instill memories of her, as well as bring comfort and happiness to those who eat them.

The only change I make from the original recipe is adding a touch more cocoa, which intensifies the chocolate flavor and richness of the brownies. I also always double the recipe and use a pan that could suitably be used for a single recipe–just so the brownies are super thick and really deep dish. A small slice can satisfy any chocolate craving, but I always find myself sneaking back to the pan and cutting just one more piece. Or two. Okay, three or four.

My mom sometimes served these topped with powdered sugar and a scoop of Cool-Whip, but they also pair lovely with cold vanilla ice cream. And of course, they are just perfect without additional adornment, sure to please any crowd.

Kay’s Deep Dish Brownies

  • 3 sticks butter, melted
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup + 3 Tablespoons Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Liberally spray 9″ x 13″ baking dish with cooking spray.

3. Blend melted butter and sugar until incorporated (you will still be able to see granules of sugar).

4. Add in eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. The batter now should be thick and a wonderful yellow.

5. Add in vanilla extract.

6. Mix in flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt (sometimes I sift before adding, when I am in the sifting mood) until the dry ingredients are just incorporated, and the batter is deep brown and thick.

7. Spread into baking pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the brownies begin to pull away at the edges of the pan, and an inserted toothpick comes out moist, but clean.

Crispy edges, gooey center…Enjoy!

Happy a sunny week!

2 responses »

    • Chris-
      I hope you had a lovely, fun-filled Easter! I am sure the Sour Cream Coffee Cake was a hit :-)
      And thank you (and Miss Sadie) for the surprise snail-mail notes!

Leave a Reply

