cast-iron skillet cornbread

Standard

Happy Tuesday :) It is once again rainy here in Iowa. I know “April showers bring May flowers,” but when will Spring actually arrive? Soon, I hope!

Yesterday’s post, I am sure, did not bring much sunshine into your day (something I strive for here on la vida de frida). However, I am thankful for the ability to share my thoughts here on the blog, and writing yesterday’s post helped to soothe my homesick mind. I appreciate the warm, heartfelt comments and feedback I received from various readers. Thank you!

The meet was successful, I was happy with both of my races, and it only began to constantly drizzle a bit before the 4×4. Dad was there for support and to cheer me on; I am thankful that I have a dad who is willing to stand through freezing temperatures and pouring rain to watch me run. When I gladly returned home for the day, I changed out of my damp uniform, hopped in the shower, and spent the rest of the evening chatting with Dad at the kitchen table, enjoying a warm, cheesy bean taco for dinner and leftover Swedish Tea Ring for dessert.

There is something cozy and homey about cornbread; writing this post makes me want to curl up on the couch with a bowl of chili or gumbo and slice of cornbread for dunking. I made this cornbread a while back to accompany gumbo; it is perfect for alleviating some of the spiciness. This cornbread is rustic, dense, grainy, and barely sweet from the addition of honey. The batter is poured into a hot cast-iron skillet, which creates a quite satisfying sizzle, and then baked in the oven. Eat it fresh and piping hot out of the oven, topped with an extra drizzle of honey or slather or butter.

Cast-Iron Skillet Cornbread recipe slightly adapted from The Pioneer Woman

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup white whole-wheat flour (I enjoy the texture the whole-wheat flour adds.)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Honey, about 3 Tablespoons or so, optional (This is not a sweet cornbread, so you may want to add more if you prefer a sweeter cornbread. Sugar could also be swapped for the honey.)
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, melted
  • Additional butter for greasing pan, 1-2 Tablespoons
1. Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. Combine the dry ingredients (minus the baking soda) in a bowl.
3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, milk, egg, and honey (if using). Add the baking soda and stir.
4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, stirring just until combined.
5. Slowly mix the melted butter into the batter. 
6. In a cast-iron skillet, melt the remaining 1-2 Tablespoons of butter over medium heat. Once the butter is melted, slowly pour the cornbread batter into the skillet, making sure the batter is even. The batter should sizzle. Cook for 1 minute on the stove top, then transfer to the oven to continue baking for 20-25 minutes. 
The edges should appear crispy when the cornbread is done, but the center soft.

Enjoy the day!
3 responses »

Leave a Reply

