vanilla protein powder oatmeal

Standard

I tend to go through breakfast food phases. Some of my phases have been vanilla yogurt with blueberry muffin granola, toast with chopped cherry jam, cold cereal topped with sliced bananas, peanut butter oatmeal, and scrambled eggs with butter & honey toast. I will be hooked on one breakfast for a week or so, then enter a new phase. My favorite breakfast as of late (it has been my morning meal four days in the last week!) has been vanilla protein powder oatmeal: old-fashioned oatmeal where vanilla protein powder stars as the sweetener instead of refined brown sugar and also provides energizing protein. Typically, I crave something sweet in the morning, but I try to fulfill that craving without consuming a large amount of refined sugars. Creamy and sweet, vanilla protein powder oatmeal is the quintessential way to fulfill my sweet craving without consuming almost any refined sugar.

Oatmeal is incredibly versatile. The options for mix-ins and toppings are endless. Each time I have made vanilla protein powder oatmeal, I have tailored how I make it and the toppings,  looking for my favorite preparation method and combination of toppings. I have found I enjoy the simplicity of the recipe below, as I prefer to eat my berries or other fruit alongside my bowl of oatmeal. Today I made my favorite bowl yet, accompanied by fresh strawberries and tangy orange juice.

Vanilla Protein Powder Oatmeal

  • Liquid: 3/4 cup water + 3/4 cup milk (Liquid to oatmeal is a 2:1 ratio. I like using half water, half milk because I get calcium, Vitamin D, protein, and extra creaminess from the milk.)
  • 3/4 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/8 cup raisins
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons vanilla protein powder, or half a scoop (I use NNW Healthy Whey Protein Powder.)
  • 1 Tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 Tablespoon chia seed
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • Milk
  • Other topping ideas: sliced apples, peaches, or nectarines, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, almonds, pecans, walnuts
  1. Bring water and milk to a boil.
  2. Add oatmeal to liquid. Constantly stir until most of the liquid has been absorbed and desired consistency has been reached. Add in raisins with an estimated 1 minute of cooking time left. The temperature may need to be adjusted throughout the cooking process. I cook my oatmeal for approximately 6-8 minutes.
  3. Stir in vanilla protein powder, ground flaxseed, and chia seed. Top with sliced banana or other desired toppings.
  4. Finish off the bowl of vanilla protein powder oatmeal with a few splashes of milk for extra creaminess. 
  5. Enjoy a heart-healthy, protein-packed, creamy and satisfying breakfast!

Enjoy the day, 
Abby
One response »

Leave a Reply

