andy’s muffins

Standard

My brother Andy is home for a few weeks before he returns to West Point to begin his sophomore year. Not only do I love Andy’s visits because I get to catch up with my big brother, but I also get to bake more than usual! Andy recently announced to me that muffins are his vice (Since his return home on late Friday evening, two batches of muffins, blueberry and banana chocolate chip, have disappeared.). His request? Double chocolate chip muffins.

Andy’s Muffins, Double Chocolate Chip recipe slightly adapted from joyofbaking.com

I halved the original recipe, which yielded exactly 12 muffins. The muffins turned out a little dry, which I think is due to a lack of fat, a too-high baking temperature, and a too-long baking time. The muffins, despite being a bit dry, were perfectly chocolate-y: great with a glass of cold milk. The recipe below includes my modifications. 

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup + 2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used a combination of semi-sweet and dark.)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line muffin tins with liners or spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, sift together dry ingredients.
  3. In a separate, larger bowl, whisk together wet ingredients.
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, stirring until just combined.
  5. Fold in chocolate chips.
  6. Distribute batter evenly between muffin tins. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Allow muffins to cool in muffin tin for about 5 minutes before removing and placing on a cooling rack to cool completely.
An update on the banana chocolate chip muffins recipe: My latest batch of these muffins turned out drier that typical, and the batter yielded 14 muffins instead of 9. I realized that I accidentally published the incorrect amount of flour on the blog. The correct amount of flour is 1/2 cup all-purpose flour + 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I have made this adjustment on the banana chocolate chip muffin blog post. My apologies! 

One response »

Leave a Reply

