cherry cornmeal muffins

Standard

I have an abundance of cherries at home, thanks to my over-estimated quantity of cherries needed for my Two Cherry Pie. I did not want these seasonal cherries to go bad (especially because they do cost a pretty penny). With my dad, the main cherry-eater in the family, riding RAGBRAI the next couple of days, I needed to bake something as a means of using them up. It took quite a bit of blog-browsing to decide what I wanted to bake, but after I glimpsed this Cherry Cornmeal Upside-Down Cake, I knew I wanted to create a cornmeal muffin with cherries (because muffins, apparently, are not only my brother’s vice, but mine now, too!). The muffin recipe below is my creation. I did not use a recipe, and I had a really enjoyable time developing these muffins.

Cherry Cornmeal Muffins

With all of the delicious, thoughtful ingredients in these muffins, I really wanted to title them Cherry Brown Butter Honey Cornmeal Muffins, but that’s quite a mouth-full. Sweet Bing cherries and medium-grain cornmeal are the two star ingredients in these muffins, and they are accented by the deep, rich, warm flavors of brown butter and honey. Overall, this muffin is cozy and hearty, bursting with beautiful shades of pink cherries, perfect with a light swipe of butter. The muffins did not rise too much; next time I bake these, I will play around with the quantities of baking powder and baking soda.

  • 1/2 cup medium-grain cornmeal (Finely ground cornmeal can also be used; this will yield less of a crunch.)
  • 3/8 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 stick (4 Tablespoons) brown butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1 1/2 cups sweet Bing cherries (I used about 25 cherries total.)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line muffin pan with muffin liners or spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together dry ingredients. More than likely, not all of the medium-grain cornmeal will go through the sifter, so simply pour the larger grains in the bowl.
  3. In a separate, smaller bowl, whisk together brown butter, honey, and sugar. A thick mixture should form.
  4. Whisk in milk to the butter/honey/sugar mixture. This may take a few minutes to incorporate thoroughly.
  5. To the wet ingredients, whisk in egg and vanilla extract until a thin, smooth mixture forms.
  6. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, stirring until batter is just incorporated.
  7. Fold in cherries.
  8. Distribute batter evenly between muffin pan.
  9. Bake muffins until golden brown, about 12-13 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  10. Allow muffins to cool in muffin pan for at least 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container or Ziploc bag when fully cooled.
Unfortunately, I got the date for the Pie Contest mixed up; it is actually today! I will not be able to compete, but there is always next year!
Happy Thursday!
2 responses »

  1. What a great treat to wake up to after a few days on the road! Interesting texture, but very tasty. And Abby is right…Rainer Cherries are one of my favorites. Not uncommon this time of year, when they are in season, for me to eat a pound at one sitting. Thanks for the muffins Abby!

Leave a Reply

