goodbye summer, hello senior year

Standard

Today was the first day of my senior year of high school. In the days leading up until the first day of school, I had mixed feelings about the school year commencing. I wanted summer vacation to continue so I could go on an extraordinary trip, participate in an activity that only summer could offer, or simply to say I accomplished something; I wanted my summer to have value. (Although I traveled to Texas, Davenport, and Missouri, had one enjoyable, relaxing, Fourth-of-July afternoon spent kayaking, and completed some college research, these experiences seemed sparse.)  I felt that this summer was different from any summer before. It progressed from incredibly busy schedule, leaving me worried that I would never experience summer relaxation, to seemingly unproductive days that passed by too quickly. The days that felt unproductive were, at the end of the day, the ones where I wished I had done something extraordinary, a summer-esque activity, or a proactive, worthwhile task. When those days passed by in the blink of an eye, I felt as if I was not savoring summer’s adventurous opportunities or gift of time. And so, from these feelings, I also felt little remorse for the end of summer vacation, as I was ready for my life to fall into routine and proactiveness. Now, looking back, perhaps I did savor summer, as I spent those idle days doing what I felt like doing, even if the activity was not unforgettable or extremely productive. I could go on, writing about everything I wish I would have participated in or accomplished during the summer, but that reflection would only be detrimental to myself. The summer is behind me, and the school year is before me. I have to look forward and make my senior year of high school count.

After this first day of senior year, I am excited and motivated to begin the next part of my life.

5 responses »

  1. Even thought I’m not a senior I can relate, on several levels, to your post. Less than 178 days and you will end this phase of your life. Know I plan to enjoy every hall passing, every activity I see you participating in, every book you check out and every smile we share. I hope you enjoy your senior year.

  2. Sounds to me like you spent summer exactly the way school summers are supposed to be spent; a trip here and there, (albeit short), friends, family, and some days where you may have idled away the time and wondered where the day went….ahhhhh summer.

Leave a Reply

