blog project + a bowl full of oatmeal

Standard

My first month of school has flown by; days have been fairly busy (hence the lack of blog updates), and I am just beginning to settle into my school/homework + cross-country schedule. Blog updates will continue, although of a different variety, thanks to a blog project assigned in my Spanish class. I will be writing, in Spanish, a series of five blog posts about my transition from high school to college. These posts will appear on the home page of la vida de frida, as well as under the Category “Mi proyecto de blog español: Una nueva era.” I think this will be a fun project!

My favorite, almost daily breakfast since, oh, mid-July, is what I call Vanilla Protein Powder Peanut Butter Oatmeal. This oatmeal combines two of my previous oatmeal creations, Vanilla Protein Powder Oatmeal and Peanut Butter Oatmeal, to make one heck of a delicious, comforting, and satisfying bowl of oats. Oatmeal gives me the power I need to start my day! This past Sunday, however, I wanted to stray from my usual bowl of oats. I could not stray entirely from oatmeal. I whipped up a Sunday breakfast of Oatmeal Pancakes for my dad and I to enjoy. Below are the recipes for both oatmeal breakfasts.

Power Oats

love how the rich, deep, salty flavor of the peanut butter compliments the sweet vanilla protein powder, and how the ground flaxseed and chia seeds create a smooth, yet lumpy-textured oatmeal.

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oatmeal
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons vanilla protein powder
  • 1 Tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons (1 serving) chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1-1 1/2 Tablespoons peanut butter (I use my all-time favorite peanut butter, MaraNatha Organic Crunchy. It is unsweetened, and perfectly compliments/balances the sweetness of the vanilla protein powder.)
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  1.  In a microwave-safe bowl, combine oats, vanilla protein powder, ground flaxseed, and chia seeds.
  2.  Add milk and water; swirl bowl until mixture is moistened.
  3.  Microwave for approximately 1 minute, depending on your microwave’s power level and your desired oatmeal consistency.
  4.  When oatmeal is cooked, stir with a spoon before mixing in peanut butter. (I “split” my bowl of oatmeal in half. I thoroughly mix half of the peanut butter into half of the oatmeal, so the oatmeal is very peanut butter-y and thick. For the remaining oatmeal, I barely mix in the remaining peanut butter; in this half of the bowl, some bites of oatmeal contain a peanut butter “surprise,” and other bites of oatmeal contain no peanut butter. Mixing in the peanut butter differently create variety, which I enjoy.)
  5.  Serve sliced banana on the side, if desired.
Oatmeal Pancakes recipe slightly adapted from the blog Smitten Kitchen
These pancakes are thick, chewy, and absolutely scrumptious! They have the perfect balance of butter-y oatmeal flavor and sweetness. The batter contains heart-healthy, whole-grain oatmeal in two ways: oat flour (made by grinding old-fashioned oatmeal) and cooked oatmeal. I enjoyed my pancakes topped with a small swipe of butter and a drizzle (or two) of maple syrup.
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats, ground into flour (I used a blender, but a food processor could also be used.)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tablespoon white sugar
  • 3/8 teaspoon Kosher or coarse salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 5/8 cup milk (I measure 1/2 cup + 2 milk cap-fulls.)
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal, cooked (I cooked my oatmeal on the stove top, using 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats and 1/2 cup water.)
  1. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk dry ingredients together.
  2. In a separate, medium-sized bowl, whisk egg, milk, butter, vanilla, and honey together until thoroughly incorporated. Stir in cooked oatmeal.
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until just combined.
  4. Spray a frying pan with cooking spray, and heat to medium-high. Pour desired amount of pancake batter onto pan. Cook pancake until bubbles begin to form; flip, and continue to cook the pancake until the underside is golden brown. The entire batter should yield 9-10 medium-sized pancakes.
  5. Serve warm, topped with butter, syrup, or any desired topping. Great with a glass of milk!
Enjoy the last day of summer & the beginning of the gorgeous fall season!
2 responses »

  1. Abby, Yummy, how good this all must be and how good for you. Must get all the ingredients and on the cool mornings I am sure the Oatmeal is super good. I understand the beginning of a school year can be very busy. Spanish project sounds interesting.

    Love you much

    Grannie E.

Leave a Reply

