state bound + baked pumpkin oatmeal

Standard

A mis lectores españoles: mi tercera entrada para mi proyecto de blog español está por debajo de esta entrada.

After a week or so of blustery & down-right cold weather, the past few days have been sunny, mild, and absolutely gorgeous! I hope this beautiful fall weather continues through (at least!) the next week because I’m crossing my fingers for ideal running conditions on Saturday. This coming Saturday, I will be running, along with my inspiring teammates, at the State Cross Country Meet! This is my first year participating in the State Meet, and I couldn’t be more excited!

I have the best teammates anyone could ever ask for; the girls on my team are caring, hardworking, enthusiastic, determined, supportive, and dedicated. The cross country season with these gals has been a blast, and I believe we can accomplish great things at State!

In other news, this weekend was full of adventures in the kitchen. On Friday evening, I was inspired by Julie’s recipe, my dad’s squash pasta, and butternut squash risotto (which I have always wanted to make) to create a comfy, one-pot, squash-starring meal. I combined baked acorn squash with homemade tomato sauce (heirloom tomato + extra virgin olive oil + garlic + red onion + salt, pepper, & red chili flake), spinach, and shredded chicken (from a rotisserie chicken) and served this mixture over brown rice. I was happy with the outcome of the dish; it was very satisfying, colorful, and I thought the squash and chicken were a great match. When I make this again, I will use chicken or vegetable stock to make the squash mixture thinner & use more red chili flake (I like a nice kick.). I would also try butternut squash or pumpkin in place of the acorn squash, just to switch things up.

Lately, I have been experimenting with my morning bowl of oatmeal. Most of my inspirations come from my favorite blogs (Peanut Butter Fingers and Iowa Girl Eats) and from around the blogging world. The idea for Saturday’s oatmeal, Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal, came from Good Life Eats & Iowa Girl Eats. I have incorporated pumpkin into oatmeal before, but never have I baked oatmeal before.

It turns out baked oatmeal is absolutely delicious, hearty, dense, thick, and satisfying. I loved sinking my spoon through the almost crunchy top layer and scooping up piping hot, rich oatmeal. Around the edges of the bowl, the oatmeal is “more done” (not in a bad way), and in the middle of the bowl, the oatmeal is slightly gooey; I enjoyed the variation in texture. The addition of nutritious pumpkin and warm spices made the baked oatmeal cozy & simply perfect to enjoy for breakfast on a fall morning.

Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons vanilla protein powder (2-3 teaspoons of brown sugar and a splash of vanilla extract may be substituted for the vanilla protein powder.)
  • 1 Tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 Tablespoon wheat germ
  • Dashes of cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg (Pumpkin pie spice may be substituted for the spices.)
  • Heaping 1/3 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup milk
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In an oven-safe bowl, combine the oatmeal, vanilla protein powder (or brown sugar), ground flaxseed, wheat germ, and spices until the “add-ins” are evenly mixed with the oatmeal.
  3. Add the pumpkin and milk (and vanilla extract, if using) to the oatmeal mixture, and stir until incorporated and the mixture feels smooth.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes and let sit for 5 minutes before eating.
Enjoy the remainder of the weekend!
Are you a fan of oatmeal?
7 responses »

  1. That oatmeal sounds delicious–have been wanting ‘pumpkin something’ and that sounds interesting.
    Best of luck at the meet–hope the GOOD weather holds, or reappears!!

  2. The oatmeal is soooo good on these cold wintery like days. I like to add fruit to mine—but must try the pummpkin as I l ike anything made with pumpkin. Grandpa was surprised when I decided to bake a peach with rhubarb pie. It is my own recipe, very simple, but I had to use frozen rhubarb since I couldn’t get the fresh this time of the year. He liked it and I did , too.

    I hope the track meet will be a day when the weather brings you sunshine and no wind. I enjoyed the picture of your friends.

    Jordan had a soccer game yesterday aftternoon on the Borgia home ground—-they played Helias from Jefferson City. They went back to Jeff City pretty sad as the score was 5-0. They will start districts next week and then he will participlate in Basketball.

    So try to stay in top-notch shape for the districts and you will come out a winner. Will be thinking of you and praying for you, also.

    After eating tht BIG piece of pie, I feel I need some exercise and then at 7:00 the Cardinals play their
    fourth game in the world’s series. Last evening the Cards won big time and the Cardinal fans went crazy. We will watch the game with the anticipation that the St. Louis Cardinals will win again.

    Hope you and Dad are doing well. I am sure he enjoys your cooking and baking—and soon he will be completely healed, I hope.

    Let me know what happens in the meets.

    Love you much,
    Grannie.

  3. hello!,I like your writing so much! share we keep up a correspondence extra about your article on AOL? I require an expert on this space to resolve my problem. May be that is you! Looking ahead to look you. eacbdkfdffda

  4. Hi there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it! aegfcackecdg

Leave a Reply

