my instant pleasure: chocolate cake in a mug

Standard

A mis lectores españoles: mi quinta entrada para mi proyecto de blog español está por debajo de esta entrada.

For my Spanish class, I am writing an argumentative essay on obesity. The “argument” of my paper is that society is to blame for today’s prevalence of obesity. Personally, however, I believe that obesity is ultimately a personal choice. I chose to write my paper “in favor” of society because I thought this stance yielded a wider variety of arguments, and therefore, would provide for a more diverse and interesting essay. My first argument “in favor” of society is that society has created the expectation of instant gratification in all aspects of life, including consumption (i.e.: fast food restaurants and frozen + microwavable dinners).

So, after writing the paragraph about instant gratification in relation to consumption and my entire paper on obesity, I feel a bit hypocritical posting a recipe for a microwavable cake. I should be less lazy and take the time & effort to bake an entire chocolate cake or batch of my mom’s brownies. But…this chocolate cake in a mug is delicious, and can satisfy a craving for ooey-gooey, rich chocolate in minutes.

Everything in moderation, right?!

Chocolate Cake in a Mug, recipe slightly adapted from AJ’s Cooking Secrets

I was drawn to this recipe for chocolate cake in a mug because it had a fraction of the sugar (some recipes used as much as 1/4 cup for one serving!) and fat compared to other recipes. It also contains no eggs, so no worries about eating undercooked eggs! I have made a few changes to the original recipe to make it a bit more wholesome. Like any dessert, I want it to be as wholesome as I can make it, without sacrificing flavor.

  • 2 Tablespoons whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 Tablespoon + 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon dark chocolate chips (about 15)
  • 3 Tablespoons milk
  • Very small splash of vanilla extract
  1. In a microwave-safe coffee mug, thoroughly mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, sugar, and chocolate chips
  2. Stir in milk, oil, and vanilla extract until combined with the dry ingredients (make sure to scrape the bottom, as the dry ingredients like to “hang out” there).
  3. Microwave batter for approximately 30 seconds; the cooking time will depend on microwave power and desired cake texture. (I microwave my cake for 30 seconds, and the result is similar to a molten chocolate lava cake.)
  4. Enjoy plain, or with a dusting of powdered sugar, scoop of vanilla ice cream, dollop of whipped cream, spoonful of peanut butter, or cold glass of milk!

 

photo-20

One response »

Leave a Reply

