oatmeal raisin cookies

Standard

A mis lectores españoles: mi quinta entrada para mi proyecto de blog español está por debajo de esta entrada y la próxmia entrada. 

For all of my cross country meets, parents of the runners provide after meet treats for the athletes. Monster cookies are a favorite of the team; everyone goes wild for the chocolate-y, peanut-y, candy-studded oatmeal cookies, and, I must agree, they are quite the satisfying after race treat. So, for almost every meet, due to popularity, monster cookies were apart of the after meet treat bounty. Every few meets or so, oatmeal raisin cookies would be among the monster cookies and other treats, but they were often overshadowed by the favored monster cookies. However, these oatmeal raisin cookies were not overlooked by me; these oatmeal raisin cookies could out-shine any monster cookie, any day. They had the perfect balance of saltiness and sweet: a rich, butter-y, oatmeal cookie base studded with plump raisins. ¡Delicioso! Thanks to my friend Bailey’s mom, who was the baker of these awesome oatmeal raisin cookies, I now have the recipe!

One of my brother’s favorite cookies (among oatmeal chocolate chip) is oatmeal raisin. I made these cookies for the first time when he was home over Thanksgiving Break. My brother was home for 4 days, and during those 4 days, he, my dad, and myself managed to each at least 35 of the 42 cookies that were made…they were a hit!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, slightly adapted from Bailey’s mom’s recipe, which came from an unknown magazine

I fell even deeper in love with this cookie recipe when I noticed Bailey’s mom’s adaptations; she swapped the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and wheat germ. I opted to reduce the sugar content (both white and dark brown) from 1 cup each to 3/4 cup each.

Yields: Approximately 42 cookies (made with a 1 1/2 Tablespoon scoop)

  • 1 cup butter, softened (I used salted butter because I like my baked goods saltier, and I enjoyed the salty & sweet balance of the resulting cookies, but unsalted butter can, of course, also be used.)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ (If you do not have wheat germ, 1/4 cup whole wheat flour can be substituted.)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 cups raisins
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Cream butter and sugars until light and thoroughly incorporated.
  3. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract until thoroughly combined with the butter and sugars.
  4. Stir in dry ingredients until just combined.
  5. Mix in oats and raisins until dough comes together.
  6. Scoop the dough onto lightly greased cookie sheets. (I used a 1 1/2 Tablespoon scoop.)
  7. Bake for 10-13 minutes, or until the cookies are golden brown but still slightly soft.
  8. Allow the cookies to cool on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.
Enjoy!
One response »

  1. This sounds like I must bake these for the Christmas season. I am sure Andy and your Dad enjoyed them very much. I am happy Andy could spent time at home with you, but I guess with Christmas around the corner he will be home soon again.

    Grannie E.

Leave a Reply

