pumpkin muffins with cinnamon-sugar topping

Standard

This morning, I ended 2011 on a challenging, thigh-burning, but fun note; I met up with a few of my cross country teammates, one of my cross country coaches, and two other friends for a beach workout. The bulk of the workout was sand hills. Although the workout was tough, I reveled in the (beautiful) change of scenery from the gym and the streets of my little town (where I now complete my longer runs), as well as the change of workout: I love to work my body in unfamiliar ways. Enjoying the beach scenery and sublime weather, moving my body, and being with friends was not only a great way to start the day, but a wonderful way to celebrate 2011.

Now a senior in high school, it is strange to think that earlier in the year, I was still a junior. Instead of measuring one year from January to December, I tend to look at one year as August to May, as I begin a new chapter of my life–a new school year–every August and end a chapter every May. Nevertheless, I have learned and experienced a lot in 2011, and I am so excited to welcome 2012!

My last baking endeavor of 2010 was blueberry pie, which, as it was the first time I made pie, was an intense, time-consuming undertaking. 2011’s last baking project was not nearly as involved, but it was certainly quite delicious: these pumpkin muffins are moist, dense, dunked in melted butter, and spun in cinnamon-sugar, which adds sweetness and a pleasing little crunch.

Pumpkin Muffins with Cinnamon-Sugar Topping

  • 1 1/2 cups, approximately 12 ounces, pumpkin purée (I do not think using an entire 15-ounce can of pumpkin purée would hurt the recipe.)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 Tablespoons butter, melted
  • Cinnamon-sugar (I made a mixture of 2 Tablespoons + 2 teaspoons white sugar & 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon.)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line muffin tins with muffin liners or spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, using a whisk, combine pumpkin purée, sugar, oil, egg, and vanilla extract until thoroughly combined.
  3. Gently mix in dry ingredients.
  4. Fill muffin tins 3/4 full with batter, and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until an inserted knife or toothpick comes out clean (a few crumbs are okay, as this insures the muffins are moist).
  5. Allow the muffins to cool in muffin tins for about 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool for an additional 10-15 minutes.
  6. Once the muffins are almost completely cool, but still slightly warm, dunk the tops in melted butter and spin in cinnamon-sugar.

Have a celebratory New Year’s Eve and a happy start to 2012!

2 responses »

  1. I love when you share your running experiences. I run mostly alone, in the hills outside of Hermann, MO, but it is good to hear someone else’s experience. Where did you get to enjoy the SAND?
    Funny that you made these muffins, as I printed a recipe off the other day, as pumpkin just sounded GOOD…NOW I will use YOURS instead.
    Your Cheeriodoodles were part of my holiday baking-YUM.
    May 2012 be as exciting as you hope. (I taught with your grandmother, and we remain good friends, that is the ‘connection’:-) Best to you–mb

Leave a Reply

