what i’m enjoying

Standard

1. Finding new food blogs. I’m all over thoughtfulness. My favorite food blogs are the ones with thoughtful writing and thoughtful photos. Of course, the recipes have to be appealing, too, but I want a well-rounded blogging experience. I mentioned Cooking ala Mel and Sprouted Kitchen in yesterday’s post, and today I stumbled upon The Ginger Snap Girl (It was love at first site with Banana Cake with Nutella Frosting!). Cooking ala Mel interested me because of Melinda’s refined sugar-free baking recipes. I want to try this cookie recipe, this brownie recipe, and this summery bar recipe. As for Sprouted Kitchen, Sara’s approach to eating and cooking is one I want to adopt – and every single recipe looks stunning and delicious. 

2. Oatmeal and yogurt bowls. I love decorating my bowl of oatmeal or yogurt with dried and fresh fruit, nuts, and other toppings such as ground flaxseed. I usually like to taste the components of a dish separately, but I like my bites to include every ingredient when it comes to oatmeal and yogurt bowls.

This yogurt bowl included Kalona Supernatural Organic 5% Plain Yogurt (which I lightly sweetened with pure maple syrup), old-fashioned rolled oats (acting as granola), fresh pieces of nectarine, sliced almonds, chopped walnuts, and a sprinkle of ground flaxseed.

This yogurt bowl included Kalona Supernatural Organic 5% Plain Yogurt (which I lightly sweetened with pure maple syrup), old-fashioned rolled oats (acting as granola), fresh pieces of nectarine, sliced almonds, chopped walnuts, and a sprinkle of ground flaxseed.

3. Raw honey. Since I started my three weeks of mindful eating, I’ve stopped sweetening my oatmeal and yogurt with refined sugar or protein powder and started using pure maple syrup or raw honey. Seriously, if you have never had raw honey before, go get some. Raw honey is thick, and it is not as cloyingly sweet as “regular” honey. Oh, it’s simply delicious! Plus, raw honey has many health benefits, which are explained in this article.

4. Food styling and food photography. Even though it doesn’t really matter how food is arranged in a bowl or on a plate, I smile when my meals – hey Dad – look pretty. I like to style my meals “effortlessly” and then snap a photograph and play around with editing. I always use my iPhone and Instagram or Fotor to take and edit my photographs. I have a “nice” camera, but I don’t have a “professional” photo-editing program. Maybe some day? Right now, though, I’m satisfied with what I have.

Oatmeal pancakes with caramelized bananas.

Oatmeal pancakes with caramelized bananas. (You can get the recipe for my oatmeal pancakes here.)

What are you enjoying?

Leave a Reply

