pecan sandy crumb topping (or munchie)

Standard

photo-1 photo

Right now, I am filled with mixed emotions. I am I didn’t-get-enough-sleep-last-night/my-iron-is-probably-low tired. Tired doesn’t make me want to think outside basic child language to come up with interesting words to create clever, colorful sentences for this post. I am also, though (remember, mixed emotions), eager to share this addicting recipe.

I guess eager > tired.

I made this crumb topping (although now, the extra has become an irresistible munchie. If made only for munching purposes, no criticism will come from me – I promise it won’t last long.) for individual Fourth of July Strawberry-Blueberry Crumbles. All baked up, the Crumbles had layer of topping perfectly blended into a filling bursting with strawberries and blueberries and thick syrup. With a scoop of melting vanilla ice cream on top? Red, white, and blue. Fireworks in my mouth, festive patriotism in my heart.

Pecan Sandy Crumb Topping (or Munchie) recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

The recipe below makes enough topping for four 7 ounce ramekins with leftovers or an 8 x 8 – 9 x 9″ baking pan.

1/2 cup pecans, toasted and processed into crumbs
3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon coarse grain salt
1/4 – 1/2 cup powdered sugar (The amount of powdered sugar depends on the brand of powdered sugar used. Start with 1/4 cup, add brown sugar and other ingredients, taste, and add more powdered sugar as needed to reach desired level of sweetness.)
2 Tablespoons dark brown sugar
6 Tablespoons butter, melted and browned
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Whisk together pecans, flour, oats, soda, salt, and sugars until well combined.
2. Beat in butter and vanilla extract until a uniform “dough” is formed.
3. Use as a crumb topping for a “fruit filling” crumble, or just eat as a munchie.

What is your favorite Independence Day dish?

Leave a Reply

