hey y’all!

Standard

Guys and gals – I miss this.

I miss writing. I miss searching for the right word, I miss forming interesting sentences, I miss producing something.

When I mentioned my sentiment to my roommate, she suggested I hop back on the Blogging Train. In response, I said, “Ok…but what would I write about? I’m not baking these days.” Helaina { Not Helen or Helena – Helaina: Hel – A – na } said she enjoyed reading blogs that documented an experience – Decided to live in a van? Blog about it. { Incidentally, Helaina interviewed a handful of van dwellers. You can watch the interview here. } Doing the Paleo thing? Blog about it. Training for a triathlon? Blog about it.

Well, folks, I’m going “treat-free” – and I’m going to blog about it.

The past two years of college (and really my senior year of high school, too) I have indulged. I have enjoyed so, so, so many sweet treats in the past three years I don’t even know how to make an analogy. I want to give my body a break – and I think I need to give my body a break.

 

So – what does treat-free mean?

Treat-free means no morning pastries (Coffee cake, doughnuts, muffins, etc.) and no desserts (Cookies, cupcakes, ice cream, etc.). By being free of these treats, I’m greatly reducing the amount of refined carbohydrates and sugars in my diet.

 

“Psh, that’s nothing. Why aren’t you going sugar-free?”

What is sugar? What are the boundaries? Raw honey is sugar, but it has incredible health benefits. My favorite local, whole-grain bread is sweetened with brown sugar. For me, there would be too many exceptions with going sugar-free. By going treat-free, I can easily define my boundaries and take a break from what I truly want to take a break from.

 

What are your thoughts? Is this a good idea? Bad idea?

{ I’ll check back in with y’all in a week! }

 

One response »

  1. Abby – err – Frida,
    You totally rock for challenging yourself, and I’m so excited to hear about how your body/mind feels in the next few weeks. Remember, though, it is 100% okay to indulge with purpose every once in awhile – you deserve it!
    H

Leave a Reply

